Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Code of Practice

In 2012, following the high profile incidents surrounding discrimination in the game, the Prime Minister hosted a round table discussion at Downing Street.

EFL, along with The FA, The Premier League, the Professional Footballers Association and the League Managers Association, provided an interim response to Government detailing our proposed activity to combat discrimination and work for greater inclusion within English football.

The Equality Code of Practice continues to be an integral part of EFL Regulation (129) and achievement is mandatory for EFL Clubs. The Code requires Clubs to focus on priority groups in which under-representation exists, which are characteristics protected under the Equality Act 2010, which ensures that individuals are not discriminated against on the grounds of: Age, Disability, Gender reassignment, Marriage and civil partnership, Pregnancy and maternity, Race, Religion or belief, Sex, Sexual orientation. The Code also gives special emphasis toward Mental Health and Wellbeing and provides the opportunity for Clubs to focus on areas of under-representation which are key to their local demographic e.g., Social Economic, employment, education.

The key area of change from previous Equality Code of Practice iterations is the introduction of levels of achievement to progressively challenge Clubs and allow for continued development of their EDI Journey.

There are three levels of achievement: Bronze (Mandatory Level), Silver and Gold. Each level provides minimum operating standards and key success indicators which allows for attainment of each level to be achieved. Clubs if capable have the opportunity to be assessed at any level they wish during each assessment season.

Equality Code of Practice; Standards

The Code of Practice is established through 6 key standards which each Club will be assessed. The standards have been established to provide a continued and progressive path for Clubs to continue their EDI journey.

Standard 1: Accountability and Commitment

Standard 2: Reporting and Tackling Discrimination

Standard 3: Data Capture and Insight

Standard 4: Policy and Legal Compliance

Standard 5: Awareness Raising and Communications

Standard 6: Education and Training