Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Record-breaking number of EFL Clubs achieve Family Excellence Status as junior ticket sales continue to rise

18 May 2023

A total of 66 EFL Clubs achieved Family Excellence status for the 2022/23 season, which marks the highest success rate since the standard was introduced 15 years ago.

The success of the Family Excellence Scheme is evident in the remarkable rise of junior season ticket sales which have risen by 41% across the League since the 2007-08 season. Overall season ticket sales are also up by 28% in the same period.

The Family Excellence scheme sees Clubs receive two visit assessments each season, in order to determine the quality of the family matchday experiences they provide. The scheme recognises the continuous improvement and best practice that emerges across the League and rewards Clubs for their efforts in attracting and retaining young supporters.

Of the 66 EFL Clubs which achieved Family Excellence status, 12 were recognised as ‘Gold Award’ winners for the exceptional family experience they provide for supporters on matchdays.

The appetite for live football shows no signs of slowing down with crowds for the 2022/23 season across the EFL increasing by 12% compared to the previous season with attendances at an all-time high this century.

EFL Chief Executive, Trevor Birch, said: “Our Clubs deserve an enormous amount of praise for the outstanding work they have done in making sure the matchday experience is a welcoming one for all families, which has helped boost attendances across all our competitions.

“From improved engagement with supporters before and after games, to innovative approaches around the matchday itself, such as creating dedicated fanzones and improving catering options, Clubs are pulling out all the stops to enhance their offering and attract the next generation of young fans.

“I would like to congratulate all those Clubs who have achieved Family Excellence status and thank them for their efforts.”

The Gold Award winners for 2022/23 season are: Blackburn Rovers, Doncaster Rovers, Exeter City, Huddersfield Town, Hull City, Ipswich Town, Lincoln City, Middlesbrough, Plymouth Argyle, Queens Park Rangers, Rotherham United, Stoke City.

A full list of all other EFL Clubs to receive Family Excellence status can be found below:

  • AFC Wimbledon
  • Barnsley
  • Barrow
  • Birmingham City
  • Blackpool
  • Bolton Wanderers
  • Bradford City
  • Bristol City
  • Bristol Rovers
  • Burnley
  • Burton Albion
  • Cambridge United
  • Cardiff City
  • Carlisle United
  • Charlton Athletic
  • Cheltenham Town
  • Colchester United
  • Coventry City
  • Crawley Town
  • Crewe Alexandra
  • Derby County
  • Forest Green Rovers
  • Grimsby Town
  • Harrogate Town
  • Leyton Orient
  • Luton Town
  • Mansfield Town
  • Millwall
  • Milton Keynes Dons
  • Morecambe
  • Newport County
  • Northampton Town
  • Norwich City
  • Peterborough United
  • Port Vale
  • Portsmouth
  • Preston North End
  • Reading
  • Rochdale
  • Sheffield United
  • Sheffield Wednesday
  • Shrewsbury Town
  • Stevenage
  • Stockport County
  • Sunderland
  • Sutton United
  • Swansea City
  • Swindon Town
  • Tranmere Rovers
  • Walsall
  • Watford
  • West Bromwich Albion
  • Wigan Athletic
  • Wycombe Wanderers

Advertisement block