Skip to main content Skip to site footer

EFL Clubs recognised at Parliament for outstanding community work

17 April 2023

A number of EFL Clubs and players were recognised and celebrated at Parliament for their outstanding work in the community.

As divisional winners of the Community Club of the Season, three EFL Clubs were selected for their exceptional work in their local communities and recognised for their outstanding impact over the past year.

Each of the Clubs has made a significant difference to the lives of people living in their local areas, through projects designed to tackle societal issues such as loneliness, food poverty and education, amongst others.

Three Clubs - one per division - were also recognised for their outstanding work in delivering a specific, innovative and most impactful project that has had a positive impact on their local community, while three players - also one per division - were recognised for going above and beyond and their exceptional work in their local communities.

Hosted by ITV's EFL presenter Jules Breach, winning Clubs were honoured at the annual EFL Community Awards - a special event at the House of Commons. 

Guests and Club representatives gathered on the River Thames as winners were celebrated and given the opportunity to showcase some of the outstanding work delivered in their local communities. Participants whose lives have been positively impacted by such work from their local football Club and Club Community Organisation were also invited to share their stories.

The overall winner for each category will be announce at the annual EFL Awards ceremony.

EFL Community Divisional Winners

EFL Community Club of the Season

Championship: Wigan Athletic

League One: Plymouth Argyle

League Two: Swindon Town

EFL Community Project of the Season

Championship: Stoke City – Keep Stoke Smiling

League One: Milton Keynes Dons – Knife Angel: anti-violence project

League Two: Doncaster Rovers – Fit Families: pre & post-natal courses

EFL Player in the Community, sponsored by the PFA

Championship: Hakeem Odoffin, Rotherham United

League One: George Edmundson, Ipswich Town

League Two: Omar Beckles, Leyton Orient

Advertisement block