Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Utilita Kids & Girls Cup

Utilita Kids Cup: Meon Junior School & Portsmouth Claim League One Crown

21 May 2022

“Scoring at Wembley is a dream come true!”

That was the reaction of Meon Junior School’s Lorenzo Jay, who netted the opening goal in Portsmouth’s 2-0 victory in the League One Kids Cup Final at Wembley Stadium.

Pompey’s Lewis Hamza doubled their advantage in the second half to overcome Sheffield Wednesday, represented by Windmill Hill Primary School, to claim the silverware.

Goalscorer Hamza rejoiced: “I’m going to be bragging about it to my friends at school! I didn’t think I’d be able to score at Wembley, so to do it is amazing.”

Pompey dominated the early proceedings, with Rafael Taylor-Stoakes and Freddie Seabrook both being denied from close range by Wednesday stopper Faine Eccles.

However, they got the lead they deserved from a corner kick, when Jay rose highest to nod home the opener.

Windmill Hill captain Oscar Fowler tried to inspire a revival with a driven shot at goal, but Leo Higgins was equal to the task of thwarting the young Wednesday striker.

Pompey went in search of a second before the break, with skipper Teddy Nightingale hitting an effort over the bar before his driving run into the area led to a chance for Seabrook, but he could only hit the side-netting.

After half-time, it was more of the same as Portsmouth piled forward. A tricky run down the left from Seabrook led to a floated cross into the box towards Hamza, who calmly steered his header into the net.

Meon created more chances to extend their lead in the closing moments, with the inspired Eccles in the Wednesday goal preventing Seabrook twice more in quick succession, meaning the match concluded with a 2-0 scoreline.

The impressive Seabrook added: “Winning at Wembley is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and I think we deserved it. We played really well.”

Meon Junior School – Portsmouth

Leo Higgins, Leon Young, Rafael Taylor-Stoakes, Lorenzo Jay, Freddie Seabrook, Teddy Nightingale (C), Lewis Hamza, Anbiya Habibi.

Windmill Hill Primary School – Sheffield Wednesday

Faine Eccles, Finley Vickers, Hudson Brown, George Roxbrough, Oscar Fowler (C), Oscar Wilson, Cole Malin, Preston Nash.


Advertisement block