Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Carabao Cup

Carabao Cup Round One draw confirmed

23 June 2022

The Carabao Cup Round One draw has been made and the ties - set to take place week commencing 8 August - have been confirmed.

After an 11-year absence from the EFL, newly promoted Stockport County will travel to fellow League Two side Harrogate Town in Round One.

West Bromwich Albion face fellow Championship promotion hopefuls Sheffield United, while Sheffield Wednesday take on Sunderland AFC in a repeat of the 2021/22 League One Play-Off Semi-Final. 

Elsewhere in the Northern section, Mark Hughes’ Bradford City host Championship side Hull City and last season’s Championship Play-Off Finalists Huddersfield Town will take on Ryan Lowe’s Preston North End.

In the Southern section, Round One will see Dean Smith’s Norwich City take on Birmingham City, while Cardiff City face Portsmouth at the Cardiff City Stadium. 

Last season’s Championship Play-Off Semi-Finalists Luton Town will take on League Two side Newport County as Swansea City travel to Oxford United. 

Carabao Cup Round One draw in full: 

Northern Section

Blackburn Rovers v Hartlepool United

Harrogate Town v Stockport County

Bolton Wanderers v Salford City

Morecambe v Stoke City

Blackpool v Barrow

West Bromwich Albion v Sheffield United

Sheffield Wednesday v Sunderland

Grimsby Town v Crewe Alexandra

Mansfield Town v Derby County

Accrington Stanley v Tranmere Rovers

Middlesbrough v Barnsley

Bradford City v Hull City

Rochdale v Burton Albion

Doncaster Rovers v Lincoln City

Huddersfield Town v Preston North End

Shrewsbury Town v Carlisle United

Port Vale v Rotherham United

Fleetwood Town v Wigan Athletic


Southern Section

Norwich City v Birmingham City

Coventry City v Bristol City

Northampton Town v Wycombe Wanderers

Cardiff City v Portsmouth

Charlton Athletic v Queens Park Rangers

Crawley Town v Bristol Rovers

Walsall v Swindon Town

Ipswich Town v Colchester United

Luton Town v Newport County

Reading v Stevenage

Plymouth Argyle v Peterborough United

AFC Wimbledon v Gillingham

Cheltenham Town v Exeter City

Milton Keynes Dons v Sutton United

Forest Green Rovers v Leyton Orient

Cambridge United v Millwall

Oxford United v Swansea City

Ties will be played week commencing 8 August. 

Advertisement block