Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Papa Johns Trophy

Last five Papa Johns Trophy winning managers

21 July 2022

The 2022/23 Papa Johns Trophy is right around the corner but who will lift the trophy this year?

Here, we take a look back at the last five EFL Trophy-winning managers...

Paul Warne – Rotherham United (2022)

The Rotherham United boss is no stranger to a trip to the capital, having guided the South Yorkshire side to promotion via the Sky Bet League One Play-Offs in 2017 and visiting Wembley Stadium on two further occasions with the Millers in 2009/10 and later in 2013/14. This time, it was in a different competition as Paul Warne steered the Club to success, beating Sutton United 4-2 after extra-time in the 2022 Final.


Lee Johnson – Sunderland (2021)

Lee Johnson was the man responsible for breaking Sunderland’s Wembley curse in the 2021 showdown, with the Black Cats last tasting victory at the home of football in 1973 prior to their last trip. A slender 1-0 victory was enough to see the Wearsiders lift the trophy before Johnson departed the Club mid-way through the 2021/22 term.


Richie Wellens – Salford City (2020)

Former midfielder Richie Wellens, who is now head coach of Leyton Orient, was at the helm as Salford City made history, claiming their first ever EFL silverware in the 2019 Final. The Ammies faced the then reigning champions Portsmouth as the tie went to a penalty shoot-out, where they eventually prevailed 4-2 on spot-kicks.


Kenny Jackett – Portsmouth (2019)

It was the first time the tournament was contested between two former top-flight champions when Portsmouth and Sunderland met in the Final. And Kenny Jackett was in the dugout as Pompey registered a 2-2 draw after extra time, edging the Black Cats 5-4 on penalties to take the crown.


Danny Cowley – Lincoln City (2018)

Lincoln City overcame a Shrewsbury Town outfit ranking a division higher than the Imps five years ago under the tutelage of the Cowley brothers. The duo, who masterminded Lincoln’s famous FA Cup run, masterminded the Club’s first win under the arch, as Lincoln lifted a trophy in their first season back in the EFL, going up as National League champions in 2016/17.


Advertisement block