Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Carabao Cup

Last five Carabao Cup winning captains

21 July 2022

With great responsibility comes the captain's armband and we've seen some big figures leading the line in the Carabao Cup in previous years.

We take a look back at the last five League Cup-winning skippers...

Jordan Henderson

A decade on from Liverpool’s last victory in the competition, Henderson wore the armband as the Reds lifted the trophy in February with the England international the only remaining member of the line-up that triumphed in 2012. Jurgen Klopp’s side beat Chelsea in a penalty shoot-out in the 2022 Final as the midfielder added another medal to his collection earlier this year.


Fernandinho - Manchester City

The six-time winner skippered Manchester City to a fourth consecutive title in 2021, seeing off Tottenham Hotspur 1-0 in the Final at Wembley Stadium. In nine years on the books at City, the Brazilian became something of a silverware specialist, enjoying his most success in the League Cup.


David Silva - Manchester City

A dominant City side retained their title in the wake of back-to-back League Cup titles in the competition with Silva leading the team out as they beat Aston Villa 2-1 in the 2020 showpiece. Silva succeeded Vincent Kompany, whom he was immortalised alongside outside of the Etihad Stadium, as Club captain at the beginning of the campaign.


Vincent Kompany - Manchester City

The recently appointed Burnley boss skippered City to success on four separate occasions in the League Cup. Kompany’s first success came in 2014 when his side overcame Sunderland, and again in 2016 when they overcame Liverpool. The defender found the back of the net in the 2018 Final against Arsenal and claimed his last scalp in 2019 against Chelsea before departing for pastures new.


Chris Smalling - Manchester United

Manchester United equalled Liverpool’s then-record of 44 major trophies when they saw off Southampton 3-2 in the 2017 League Cup Final, with Smalling taking on the captaincy at Wembley. The central defender completed the full 90 minutes as Zlatan Ibrahimovic’s late winner sealed the silverware for the Reds.


Advertisement block