Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Carabao Cup

Virgil van Dijk receives the Alan Hardaker Trophy

28 February 2022

Liverpool defender Virgil Van Dijk has been named as the Carabao Cup Final 2022 Man of the Match, becoming the latest recipient of the Alan Hardaker Trophy.

The Dutchman becomes the fifth Reds player to win the award, following on from Steve McManaman (1995), Robbie Fowler (2001), Jerzy Dudek (2003) and Stewart Downing (2012).

Van Dijk kept his cool to slot home his penalty kick in the shoot-out which Liverpool won 11-10 after the game finished goalless following normal time and an additional 30 minutes of extra-time, marking the first trophy of the season.

The Alan Hardaker Trophy is named after the EFL's former secretary who conceived the League Cup and oversaw its launch in 1960.

Advertisement block