Skip to main content Skip to site footer

EFL Awards 2022: Shortlists revealed

14 April 2022

Aleksandar Mitrovic, Harry Wilson and Dominic Solanke are in the running to be named Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season at the 2022 EFL Awards.

Taking place on Sunday 24 April, winners will be announced at the star-studded EFL Awards taking place at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane.   

Mitrovic’s remarkable 38 goals have fired Fulham to the top of the Championship. The Serbian has been assisted regularly by team-mate and Welsh wizard Wilson who has racked up double figures for goals and assists to lead Fulham’s charge for promotion. Leading the line with his speed, strength and intelligence, Bournemouth’s Solanke has 24 Championship goals to his name and is also a contender.

In Sky Bet League One, midfielders Scott Twine and Barry Bannan are up against Rotherham United striker Michael Smith for the Sky Bet Player of the Season award. Twine’s 15 goals and 12 assist have helped MK Dons’ promotion push. The ability and experience of Sheffield Wednesday’s Bannan has shone through all season with an array of match-winning performances. Smith has been a consistent top performer for Rotherham United with 18 goals to his name.

In Sky Bet League Two, Forest Green Rovers have two players in contention in Kane Wilson and Matty Stevens, whilst Newport County’s goalscoring machine Dominic Telford completes the list. Wilson has combined his dribbling ability and pinpoint crossing to the tune of 13 assists whilst Steven’s goals have been a key factor in Forest Green’s excellent season. Telford scored 22 goals in 19 games in a wonderful four-month stretch.

The EFL Young Player of the Season Awards will be given out divisionally for the first time to recognise the best young talent in the League. In the Championship, Nottingham Forest duo Brennan Johnson and Djed Spence are up against Fulham’s Fabio Carvalho. 

In League One, Portsmouth’s shot stopper Gavin Bazunu makes the list. Dan Neil of Sunderland and Paddy Lane of Fleetwood Town - who signed in the summer from Hyde United four tiers below the Cod Army - will also be vying for the accolade.

Two defensive players make the shortlist in League Two, Bristol Rovers’ Connor Taylor and Shadrach Ogie of Leyton Orient. Newport County’s Finn Azaz is also nominated.

The Football Manager Teams of the Season will be announced on the night with a manager and starting XI chosen for each individual division.

Clubs will also be commended for their work off the pitch, with the Your Move Community Club of the Season set to be announced alongside the Community Project of the Season and PFA Player in the Community. 

New for 2022 the EFL will also be presenting Diversity and Sustainability Awards alongside the Kin + Carta Family Club of the Season and Supporter of the Season. 

The League’s two most prestigious awards, the Contribution to League Football and Sir Tom Finney Award, will be given out on the night.

Awarded to recipients who have had an outstanding career and contributed exceptionally to the EFL, previous winners include Kevin Phillips, Rickie Lambert and Joe Thompson.

EFL Awards 2022 shortlist:

Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season
Aleksandar Mitrovic – Fulham
Dominic Solanke – Bournemouth
Harry Wilson – Fulham

Sky Bet League One Player of the Season
Barry Bannan – Sheffield Wednesday
Michael Smith – Rotherham United
Scott Twine – Milton Keynes Dons

Sky Bet League Two Player of the Season
Matty Stevens – Forest Green Rovers
Dominic Telford – Newport County
Kane Wilson – Forest Green Rovers

Championship Young Player of the Season
Fabio Carvalho – Fulham
Brennan Johnson – Nottingham Forest
Djed Spence – Nottingham Forest

League One Young Player of the Season
Gavin Bazunu – Portsmouth
Paddy Lane – Fleetwood Town
Dan Neil – AFC Sunderland

League Two Young Player of the Season
Finn Azaz – Newport County
Shadrach Ogie – Leyton Orient
Connor Taylor – Bristol Rovers

LFE Apprentice of the Season – Championship
Ryan Howley – Coventry City
Jordan James – Birmingham City
Jevon Mills – Hull City

LFE Apprentice of the Season – League One
Freddie Draper – Lincoln City
Ayodeji Elerewe – Charlton Athletic
Michael Williams – Crewe Alexandra

LFE Apprentice of the Season – League Two
Alex Aitken – Stevenage
Junior Tchamadeu – Colchester United
Ethan Brierley – Rochdale

Football Manager Teams of the Season
To be announced on the night

Your Move Community Club of the Season
Middlesborough – North East & Yorkshire
Blackpool - North West
Derby County – Midlands
AFC Wimbledon – London
Plymouth Argyle – South West & Wales
Milton Keynes Dons - South East & East

One overall winner will be announced on the night

Community Project of the Season
Championship – Preston North End
League One – Burton Albion
League Two – Swindon Town

PFA Players in the Community
Championship – Billy Mitchell, Millwall
League One – Ryan Inniss, Charlton Athletic
League Two – Omar Beckles, Leyton Orient

Kin + Carta Family Club of the Season
Ipswich Town
Milton Keynes Dons
Sheffield United

Diversity Award
Blackburn Rovers
Exeter City
Preston North End

Environmental Sustainability Award
To be announced on the night

Supporter of the Season
Mark Crowther – Luton Town
Cath Dyer – Swansea City
Sue Taylor – Burton Albion

Sir Tom Finney Award
To be announced on the night

Contribution to League Football
To be announced on the night

2022 Goal of the Season
To be announced on the night

Advertisement block