Skip to main content Skip to site footer

EFL Board representatives: Sky Bet Championship

5 July 2021

Ahead of the start of season 2021/22 the EFL is seeking three new Directors to represent Championship Clubs on the EFL Board following the resignation of Nigel Howe (Reading) and Stephen Pearce (Derby County) alongside Mark Ashton (previously at Bristol City and now with Ipswich Town).

All three have departed for different reasons with Howe, who first joined the Board in 2017, being no longer eligible whilst Pearce, a director since the summer of 2019, is opting to focus his attentions on matters involving his Club. Ashton, on the Board since 2018, left his position as a result of the move into League One.

Club representatives are appointed to the Board by the Clubs in the relevant division and under the current constitution there are three members from the Championship, two from League One (Jez Moxey - Burton Albion/Steve Curwood - Fleetwood Town) and one from League Two (John Nixon - Carlisle United).

The Club representatives are joined by a Senior Independent Non-Executive Director (Debbie Jevans CBE), an Independent Non-Executive Director (Simon Bazalgette), Independent Chair (Rick Parry) and Chief Executive (Trevor Birch).

The process is now underway to recruit three new representatives and an announcement will be made following their successful appointment.

EFL Chair Rick Parry said: “I’d like to thank Nigel, Mark and Stephen for the contribution they have all made during their tenure on the Board, particularly the vital role, along with their fellow Club Directors, they have played in being the first line of communication between the League and its Clubs.

“It has, of course, coincided with a great period of uncertainty and, faced with some of the biggest issues facing football in modern times, they have approached the challenge with commitment, enthusiasm and dedication whilst representing the interests of the membership in the Championship.”

Advertisement block