Skip to main content Skip to site footer

EFL Archive: Liverpool claim 18th league title

20 March 2020

The 1989/90 season saw Liverpool win their 18th league title, as victory over Queens Park Rangers secured them the First Division trophy.

28 April 1990: Liverpool 2-1 Queens Park Rangers  
In what was their 28th consecutive season in the top flight, Liverpool lifted the First Division trophy for the 18th time in its history - more than any other side at the time. 
The Merseyside club however were in a tight title race with Aston Villa. With the Reds sitting just ahead of Villa holding onto a two point lead with a game in hand, Liverpool would claim the title with victory over QPR, providing Villa dropped points in their game against Norwich City.
With the trophy within their grasp, Liverpool were wary heading into the game after losing out on the title to Arsenal on the final day of the previous season. Needless to say Kenny Dalglish and his Liverpool side were taking nothing for granted. 
QPR took the lead inside a quarter of an hour, thanks to a header from Roy Wegerle and continued to apply pressure throughout the first half, only the crossbar denying them a second. Despite the visitor's attempts, Liverpool equalised, Ian Rush the man with the goal shortly before half-time. 
The decisive moment of the game came in the 65th minute when Steve Nicol was brought down just inside the penalty area. John Barnes stepped up and made no mistake in converting, giving the Reds the lead with just short of half an hour to play.    
As well as watching what was going on in front of them, fans around the ground were hearing of Aston Villa’s 3-3 scoreline with Norwich. If both scorelines remained as they were - the title was Liverpool’s. The final whistle blew at Anfield, with Liverpool players eagerly awaiting the final score in the West Midlands. Word finally spread of Aston Villa's draw, giving Liverpool the Champions of England title for the 18th time. 

Liverpool: Bruce Grobbelaar, Glenn Hysen, David Burrows, Steve Nichol, Barry Venison, Alan Hansen (c), Jan Molby, Ronny Rosenthal, Ian Rush, John Barnes, Steve McMahon
QPR: David Seaman, David Bardsley, Robbie Herrera, Brian Law, Paul Parker, Alan McDonald, Ray Wilkins, Justin Channing, Colin Clarke, Roy Wegerle, Andy Hinton

Advertisement block