Skip to main content Skip to site footer

The EFL Football Manager Cup

18 April 2020

If you’re missing the thrill of seeing your team in action on the pitch, then we might just have the next best thing.

Alongside Football Manager and our official charity partner, Mind, we're bringing you the EFL Football Manager Cup – an FM tournament that will take place over the next month.

Fifty four Clubs from across the EFL, each represented by a virtual manager, will face off in a straight knockout competition with the final two teams left standing facing off in the showpiece final in mid-May. 

The list of virtual managers representing the 54 Clubs includes current pro footballers, backroom staff and even some famous faces from the FM community.

The draw for Round One will take place live on the FM Twitter page at 3pm tomorrow, 19 April and those matches will take place from Monday 20 April until Thursday 23 April. Ten teams will be given a first-round bye and go straight into the second round.

After each round is completed, we’ll be uploading highlights onto the FM YouTube channel for you to catch up on all of the action and there will be a full written round-up on the FM website.

As well as supporting your team during the tournament, you can also show your support for the EFL’s charity partner, Mind, the mental health charity. In these tough times their services are needed more than ever so while you’re being entertained by the action, please consider donating here.


  • Round One draw – Sunday 19 April
  • Round One match dates – Monday 20 April to Thursday 23 April
  • Round Two – week commencing 27 April
  • The ‘Round of 16’ – week commencing 4 May
  • The Quarter Finals – 11 May to 14 May
  • The Semi-Finals – Saturday 16 May
  • The Final – Sunday 17 May


AFC Wimbledon – Rob Tuvey (U18s Manager)

Birmingham City – Lee Camp (Player)

Blackburn Rovers – Adam Armstrong (Player)

Blackpool – Cameron (Supporter)

Bolton Wanderers – Paul Huddy (Kitman)

Bradford City – Kieran Devanny (Supporter)

Brentford – Sam Jacques (Supporter)

Bristol City – Mikey Cobban (YouTuber)

Bristol Rovers – Mikey Bell (Ex-Professional Rugby Player)

Carlisle United – Riegan Thompson (Supporter)

Charlton Athletic – Alex Avery (Marketing Manager)

Colchester United – Ollie Kensdale (Player)

Coventry City – Ryan Lawrence (Supporter)

Crawley Town – Sam Gadsdon (Social Media Admin)

Crewe Alexandra – Jack Marsland (Supporter)

Derby County – Paul Wilson (Supporter)

Doncaster Rovers – Luke Benniston (Supporter)

Exeter City – Nicky Law (Player)

Forest Green Rovers – Chris Stokes (Player)

Fulham – Charlie Cooper (Star of 'This Country')

Huddersfield Town – Karlan Grant (Player)

Ipswich Town – Joe Fairs (Supporter)

Leeds United – Rob Callery 

Leyton Orient – Dan Williams 

Lincoln City – Thomas Kelsey (YouTuber)

Luton Town – George Osborn (Ukie)

Macclesfield Town – Daniel Fry (FM WEC Champion)

Mansfield Town – Jamie King (Supporter)

Middlesbrough – Neil Trewick (Supporter)

MK Dons – George Williams (Player)

Newport County – Gareth Swattridge (FM Researcher)

Northampton Town – Leigh Barton (FM Creators’ Cup Champion)

Nottingham Forest – Joe Lolley (Player)

Oldham Athletic – Jonny Smith (Player)

Peterborough United – Kevin Chapman/Lollujo (YouTuber)

Plymouth Argyle – Luke Omega (Gamer)

Port Vale – Jim Martin

Portsmouth FC – TBC

Preston North End – James Moulding (Supporter)

Queens Park Rangers – Rob Facey (Supporter)

Rochdale AFC – Elliot Howells (Supporter)

Rotherham United – Matt Neil (First-team Analyst)

Salford City – Cameron Burgess (Player)

Scunthorpe United – Harry Jamieson (Backroom staff)

Shrewsbury Town – Shaun Whalley (Player)

Southend United – Ellis Gamon (Supporter)

Swansea City – Gareth Richards (Supporter)

Swindon Town – Lewis Hathaway/FM Doop (FM Streamer)

Tranmere Rovers – James Knipe 

Walsall FC – Ryan Duckhouse

West Bromwich Albion – Romaine Sawyers (Player)

Wigan Athletic – Jordan Coyle

Wycombe Wanderers – Craig Anderson (Supporter)


Fity four teams across the EFL’s three divisions compete in a knockout tournament with the aim to crown one club as the EFL Football Manager Cup winner.

Due to there being 54 teams taking part, 10 teams will be given a bye into Round Two. This will be determined by random during the first round draw and has been implemented to ensure 32 teams take part in Round Two. 


• Matches to be played on FM20 Touch Versus mode, teams must play as themselves. 

• This is a straight knockout tournament, with all ties comprising one game. Each tie will go to extra-time and penalties, if necessary, to produce a winner. 

• The ‘home’ team of each tie will host the match .

• Suspensions/injuries won't carry over to the next round.


Advertisement block