Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Carabao Cup Final: match officials named

Find out who will be taking charge of this year's game at Wembley Stadium

7 February 2019

The match officials to take charge of the 2019 Carabao Cup Final between Chelsea and Manchester City have been confirmed, with Jon Moss named as the referee at Wembley Stadium.

Moss will be assisted by Andy Halliday and Marc Perry on the day, while Paul Tierney will be on Fourth Official duty, with Constantine Hatzidakis acting as Reserve Assistant Referee.

The match, set to kick off at 4:30pm on Sunday 24 February, will see Chelsea Manager Maurizio Sarri take charge of his first Final in English football, as Pep Guardiola looks to make it back-to-back Carabao Cup triumphs for Manchester City.

Moss is one of English football’s most experienced match officials, beginning his career in the EFL in 2003 before joining Select Group 1 in 2011.

No stranger to the big occasion, Moss was the man in the middle for the 2015 FA Cup Final at Wembley Stadium contested between Arsenal and Aston Villa, having also taken charge of the Conference Play-Off Final earlier in his career.

Speaking of his selection, Moss said: “It is a big honour to be selected to officiate a major cup final and it is an occasion I am looking forward to overseeing.

“Having taken charge of the FA Cup Final and the Community Shield previously, the Carabao Cup Final was the one missing from the collection, so for me personally it is a proud moment in my career.

“The selection of match officials on duty is a culmination of the hard work and dedication that goes on throughout the course of a season, and that wouldn’t be possible without the team behind us and everybody pushing in the same direction.”

Continuing its contribution to the live trial currently taking place in English football, the Carabao Cup Final will involve the use of Video Assistant Referees (VAR).

The VAR official has also been confirmed as Martin Atkinson. He will be supported by Steve Child as the Assistant VAR.

Referee: Jon Moss
Assistant Referees: Andy Halliday and Marc Perry
Fourth Official: Paul Tierney
Reserve Assistant Referee: Constantine Hatzidakis
VAR: Martin Atkinson
AVAR: Steve Child

Advertisement block