Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Winners: EFL Awards 2019

7 April 2019

Scroll down to see a list of winners and reaction from the 2019 EFL Awards!

Contribution to League Football Award

Winner: David Allison

Reaction: "I cannot believe that there are people in that room that I have looked up to all my life, and to win this award is beyond anything I've ever dreamt of. I can't believe they've chosen me, with all those people who I think have done more than I have."


Checkatrade Community Club of the Year Award

Winner: Portsmouth

Reaction: "It's unbelievable - and it makes it even more special because it's a complete surprise. The programme we've won this award on the back has already been rolled out, and hopefully this gives it more exposure to grow further afield."


PFA Player in the Community Award

Winner: Will Vaulks (Rotherham United)

Reaction: "It's a nice feeling, and one I wasn't expecting, to be honest. I'm honoured; but it's not about my exposure, it's massive to get this type of work out there. I don't think there's a more important type of work."


Sir Tom Finney Award

Winner: Joe Thompson

Reaction: "To win this award is amazing. I feel like my next chapter in life is going to be bigger than my football career. I am going to help people, and use what I’ve experienced to benefit others. To be recognised for what I’ve contributed to football and the league in particular is incredible – it is truly humbling.”


Screwfix Moment of the Season Award

Winner: Billy Sharp (Sheffield United)

Reaction: "This is absolutely fantastic, it's a really proud moment. Personal accolades are brilliant, and it's great to receive this tonight - I'll reflect on tonight as a proud one. Of course, my focus now is firmly on putting a 'P' for promotion beside our name come the end of the season."


AmazeRealise Family Club of the Year Award

Winner: Doncaster Rovers

Reaction: "It means everything, not just for me, but for everyone at the club who has put hard work into this. We do a lot of work and it's a great feeling for the club to win this award. Family is so important, and we want to show that it's not just about standing on the terrace for 90 minutes, it's about more than that."  


YouGov Sport Supporter of the Year Award

Winner: Roger Groves and Mike Davis (Shrewsbury Town)

Reaction: "It's fantastic; as lower league football fans, we never expected to be recognised like this. We love our club and we do what we do because we want to make life better for our fellow fans. We have to mention every Shrewsbury fans across the world and couldn't have done this without the support of the people around us." 


CEFA Player of the Season Awards

Winners: Libby Sims (Bristol City) and Harvey Hughes (Portsmouth)

Reaction (Sims): "It's amazing! I was very nervous to get up in front of all these people, I'm new to this, but to be recognised is brilliant. I can't put it into words, I don't know how to sum it up. I love playing football, that's just me."

Reaction (Hughes): "It feels amazing - I think it's testament to what the community has done for me. It's a dream to be here, and it just shows that hard work pays off. I'm a proud man, and I think my family will be proud of me too. No words can describe this feeling."


LFE Apprentice of the Year Award

Winner: Max Bird (Derby County)

Reaction: "I'm delighted, I couldn't ask for much more. To win this award, it's a proud moment for me, and all I can do is thank everyone who has helped me, from the Under-18s up to the first team. It's brilliant, I just want to keep improving from here."


EA Sports Young Player of the Season Award

Winner: Max Aarons (Norwich City)

Reaction: "I'm delighted, I couldn't ask for more. We've got our eyes on promotion but it's great to get this accolade. Credit to all of the staff and players at the club, I couldn't have won this without them, there's a great belief in the team and we're ready for the end of the season now."


Football Manager Team of the Season

Winners: Adam Davies, Max Aarons, Krystian Pearce, Liam Cooper, James Justin, Alex Mowatt, Jay O'Shea, Jarrod Bowen, Teemu Pukki, Billy Sharp, James Norwood. Manager: Chris Wilder.


Hawk-Eye Goal of the Year Award

Winner: Ruben Neves - WOLVERHAMPTON WANDERERS v Derby County


Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season Award

Winner: Teemu Pukki (Norwich City)

Reaction: "It's an honour to win this award, I'm really happy for the recognition. I have really enjoyed this season so far in what is a fantastic league, but we know there are still many big games to come. There are many great players here tonight, so it's special to win this award."


Sky Bet League One Player of the Season Award

Winner: James Collins (Luton Town)

Reaction: "Obviously this is a really proud moment for me personally, it's been a great season so far both personally and for the team. Massive credit to everyone at the club for the amazing run we've been on, it's given us confidence and to win this tonight really tops it off for me. I'm delighted."


Sky Bet League Two Player of the Season Award

Winner: James Norwood (Tranmere Rovers)

Reaction: "Obviously it's a great accolade, but this is a credit to my team, from one to 11. If they don't make the chances then I don't get this award. I'm absolutely delighted and so proud."

Advertisement block