Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Appointment process for EFL Chair

22 October 2018

The EFL can today confirm the Nomination Committee that has been selected to find the successor to Ian Lenagan as EFL Chairman.

As a result of Mr Lenagan stepping down from role as Chairman in September, Debbie Jevans CBE has been acting as interim Chair and was initially heading up the new search.

However, after informing the EFL Board that she intended to stand for the position on a permanent basis, the Nomination Committee will now be Chaired by Independent Non-Executive Director Ian Watmore.

Mr Watmore will be joined by Nigel Howe (Sky Bet Championship), Stefan Gamble (Sky Bet League One), John Nixon (Sky Bet League Two) and Rupinder Bains, the EFL’s joint appointee with the Premier League to The FA Board.

The Committee has appointed Paul Nolan of Nolan Partners to assist with the EFL Chair candidate search process.

The successful applicant will Chair a Board of ten directors, consisting of six divisional representatives, two independent non-executive directors, the EFL Chief Executive Officer and the EFL Chair.

It is hopeful that an appointment will be made in time for the EFL Club meeting in February 2019.

Advertisement block