Skip to main content Skip to site footer

England: EFL influence as World Cup squad is announced

16 May 2018

The England squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup has been announced, with 23 players and a further five on standby for the tournament this summer.

Of the 28 players selected, all but three made their way to the top through the ranks of an EFL club, or made their professional debut in either the EFL or League Cup.

The EFL are delighted to see these players progress into seasoned internationals, and we wish Gareth Southgate and his side every success in Russia.

Below is the confirmed England squad, alongside the club where the player was either developed or made their professional debut.

Jack Butland – Birmingham City
Jordan Pickford – Sunderland
Nick Pope – Charlton Athletic

Trent Alexander-Arnold – professional debut in Carabao Cup with Liverpool
Gary Cahill – Aston Villa
Phil Jones – Blackburn Rovers
Harry Maguire – Sheffield United
Danny Rose – Leeds United
John Stones – Barnsley
Kieran Trippier – League debut with Barnsley
Kyle Walker – Sheffield United
Ashley Young – League debut with Watford

Dele Alli – Milton Keynes Dons
Fabian Delph – Leeds United
Eric Dier
Jordan Henderson – Sunderland
Jesse Lingard – League debut with Leicester City
Ruben Loftus-Cheek
Raheem Sterling – Queens Park Rangers

Harry Kane – League debut with Leyton Orient
Marcus Rashford
Jamie Vardy – League debut with Leicester City
Danny Welbeck – professional debut in Carabao Cup with Manchester United

Tom Heaton – League debut with Swindon Town
James Tarkowski – Oldham Athletic
Lewis Cook – Leeds United
Adam Lallana – League debut with Southampton
Jake Livermore – League debut with Milton Keynes Dons

Advertisement block