Skip to main content Skip to site footer
EFL Trust

EFL Kids Cup: Queens Park Rangers crowned Champions at Wembley

John Keble Primary triumph ahead of Championship Play-Off Final

26 May 2018

Queens Park Rangers and John Keble Primary have been crowned EFL Kids Cup champions for the Championship, beating Sheffield Wednesday’s Greenhill Primary at Wembley Stadium.

QPR got off to the perfect start, Reshaun Da Silva firing home from close range after a bit of penalty area pinball.

It was so nearly two after an emphatic counter attack, but determined defending from Sheffield Wednesday kept them at bay. However, the advantage was doubled before the break thanks to a fine solo goal from D’Jahnni Smith.

Smith doubled his tally after half-time, coolly slotting beyond the goalkeeper, a goal which was sandwiched in between the Owls striking the crossbar twice from long distance.

Wednesday grabbed themselves a Wembley consolation courtesy of a Callum Milner header, but it was all in vain as QPR – and John Keble Primary – celebrated victory at the final whistle.

"It's a great achievement for the boys and I think they deserve everything they got today," said John Keble Primary teacher Eddie Prempeh.

"It's a once in a lifetime opportunity to play at the National Stadium and it's been the talk of the town for a while.

"These boys are talented and well-developed, and most importantly they weren't shy about showing that on a big stage like Wembley."

QPR (John Keble Primary): 5. Elluyani Passos ©, 1. Daniel Matuka (GK), 6. Jimmy Nguyen. 7. Christopher Eldemire, 8. Toure Downer, 9. D’Jahnni Smith, 10. Donte Ranger, 11. Reshaun Da Silva.

Sheffield Wednesday (Greenhill Primary): 9. Callum Milner ©, 13. Thomas Everest-Wilcock (GK), 2. Lucian Hagin, 4. James Wilson, 15. Toby Smith, 16. Daniel Birch, 17. Tommy Snell, 18. Jude Akram.

About the EFL Kids Cup

Nearly 15,000 youngsters and over 1,800 schools have taken part in six-a-side tournaments organised on behalf of the EFL and EFL Trust, with the 72 EFL clubs firstly split into three divisions, in line with the club’s divisional status, before being again split into two groups, north and south.

The six winners of the northern and southern finals in each respective division are then given the opportunity to be crowned Kids Cup champions at Wembley before their represented division’s Play-Off Final.

Advertisement block