Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Checkatrade Trophy

Checkatrade Trophy format debated; 2018/19 rule changes

8 June 2018

The EFL has started the debate with League One and League Two clubs as to the future format of the Checkatrade Trophy.

After the initial pilot season in 2016/17, clubs voted to retain the position last summer, whereby 16 Category 1 teams were invited to participate in the competition for a two-season cycle which comes to an end after next year’s final at Wembley Stadium.

The changes were initially made to assist the revitalisation of a flagging competition, whilst also creating playing opportunities for young players and providing increased revenue for EFL clubs.

Clubs were given the opportunity to fully air their views on the direction of travel and, based on the feedback received, the EFL Executive will now work up a formal proposal for 2019/20 and beyond ahead of the next club meeting in September.

Meanwhile, a number of minor rule changes were confirmed for 2018/19 with EFL clubs now being given the opportunity to name players who are out on-loan at National League clubs, whilst invited teams will only be able to name two players who are over the age of 21 and have made more than 40 First Team appearances.

Advertisement block