Skip to main content Skip to site footer

FA Cup: Maximum number of EFL clubs in Third Round

2 January 2018

For the first time since the 1950/51 season, no non-league club has made it to the Third Round of the Emirates FA Cup, ensuring that the maximum number of 44 EFL clubs remain involved at the turn of the year.

Ten EFL clubs overcame non-league opposition in the recent Round Two matches, meaning there is a full complement of EFL sides in Round Three for the first time in 67 years.
League One’s Fleetwood Town were the latest to secure their progression with victory against seventh-tier side Hereford FC, who play in the Southern League Premier Division, setting up a lucrative cup tie against 2015/16 Premier League champions Leicester City.
The fixture also sees the return of a familiar face to Highbury Stadium, with England striker Jamie Vardy likely to feature six years on from his move to the Foxes from the Lancashire side.
Wigan Athletic and Peterborough United also progressed as a result of Second Round replays against non-league opposition. The Latics rallied late at the DW Stadium, securing victory against AFC Fylde courtesy of a Will Grigg brace, while Peterborough overcame a potential upset having fallen behind early on against Woking.
The draw has thrown up some intriguing ties for EFL clubs, with Derby County travelling to Old Trafford, while two-time European Cup winners Nottingham Forest host Arsenal in what promises to be an electric atmosphere at the City Ground.
AFC Wimbledon have been rewarded with a glamour tie at Wembley Stadium against Tottenham Hotspur, while Chelsea travel to Carrow Road to face Norwich City and Exeter City host West Bromwich Albion.
League Two table-toppers Luton Town have been handed a trip north to face Newcastle United, with brothers Olly and Elliot Lee facing the club where their father Rob made over 300 appearances during a 10-year stay.
The EFL is certain to be well represented in the Round Four draw with 15 all-EFL ties ensuring the benefits of a cup run are in reach for league clubs across all three divisions.

Advertisement block