Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Carabao Cup

Match Officials confirmed for Carabao Cup Final

13 February 2018

The match officials to take charge of the upcoming Carabao Cup Final between Arsenal and Manchester City have been confirmed, with Craig Pawson named as the referee for the showpiece event at Wembley Stadium, which takes place at 4:30pm on Sunday 25th February.

Pawson will be assisted by Gary Beswick and Adam Nunn, with Graham Scott named the fourth official.

Pawson has been a referee since 1993, working his way up the EFL ladder since the 2008/09 campaign, before joining the Select Group 1 list of officials from the 2013/14 season.

The Yorkshire-based official took charge of the 2012 League Two Play-Off Final, which saw Crewe Alexandra beat Cheltenham Town 2-0 at Wembley, and was previously the fourth official for the 2015 EFL Cup Final between Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur.

The Carabao Cup Final will involve the use of video assistant referees (VAR) after the EFL committed to support English football’s contribution to the live trial currently taking place across world football.

The VAR official has also been confirmed as Neil Swarbrick, who oversaw both Semi-Final ties between Arsenal and Chelsea. He will be supported by Peter Kirkup as the Assistant VAR.

Referee: Craig Pawson
Assistant Referees: Gary Beswick and Adam Nunn
Fourth Official: Graham Scott
Reserve Assistant Referee: Ian Hussin
VAR: Neil Swarbrick
AVAR: Peter Kirkup

Advertisement block