Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Carabao Cup

In Numbers: Arsenal v Manchester City

22 February 2018

Two clubs with rich histories do battle in this Sunday's Carabao Cup Final, with the finalists lifting the trophy six times between them since the competition's introduction to the footballing calendar in 1960/61.

Along with a little help from our friends at Opta, we've crunched the numbers and brought you some of the vital statistics ahead of Arsenal and Manchester City's Wembley meeting.

0 – Arsenal have yet to concede a goal in the second half of a Carabao Cup tie this season.

0 – The number of League Cup titles Arsene Wenger has to his name. He's lost the final twice, and it's the only domestic trophy he is yet to win during his Arsenal tenure.

1 – The Carabao Cup Final will see Arsenal and Manchester City meet in a major final for the first time.

1 – Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola is aiming to lift his first trophy in English football with victory in the Carabao Cup Final.

2 – Arsenal have two League Cup crowns to their name, lifting the trophy in 1987 and 1993, both under George Graham.

2 – Laurent Koscielny and Jack Wilshere are the only two current Arsenal players who were at the club when the Gunners lost the 2011 League Cup final against Birmingham City.

3 – Aaron Ramsey will be aiming to score in his third major final with Arsenal, and would become the first Gunner to do so.

3 – Manchester City have scored three of their eight Carabao Cup goals between the 76th minute and the full-time whistle.

4 – Manchester City striker Sergio Aguero has scored in each of his last four appearances against Arsenal.

5 – Arsenal had advanced in five League Cup ties against Manchester City between 1977/78 and 2004/05, but City have won the last two, in 2009/10 and 2011/12.

6 – Arsenal have scored six Carabao Cup goals so far, the lowest tally of any team to reach the final in the competition's history.

6 – Manchester City will be competing in their sixth League Cup final. They've won on four of their five appearances, including recent triumphs in 2014 and 2016.

7 – Seven of Manchester City's current squad were in the starting line-up for that 2016 win, while five – Vincent Kompany, Yaya Toure, Fernandinho, David Silva and Sergio Aguero – remain from the 2014 team.

7 – Pep Guardiola has managed seven major finals, domestically and in European competition, winning six.

8 – This is Arsenal's eighth League Cup final. They have lost five of the seven so far – more than any other side in the competition's history.

8 – Arsene Wenger will become the eighth manager to win the domestic top-flight, FA Cup and League Cup if Arsenal are triumphant in the Carabao Cup Final.

9 – Manchester City have scored nine goals in League Cup Finals over the years, with nine different goalscorers.

10 – Manchester City's 10 yellow cards picked up in the Carabao Cup so far is a competition high.

12 – This will be the 12th meeting between the two managers. Pep Guardiola leads the way with six wins to Arsene Wenger's three, while there have been three draws.

14 – Every goal scored by Arsenal and Manchester City in the Carabao Cup so far has come from inside the penalty area.

18  The age of Arsenal striker Eddie Nketiah, who came off the bench to score twice and see off Norwich City in Round Four. 

30 – Arsenal have used 30 different players in this season's Carabao Cup, more than any other team.

50 – The percentage of Manchester City's eight Carabao Cup goals that Leroy Sane (three goals, one assist) and Bernardo Silva (three assists, one goal) have been involved in.

70 – Arsene Wenger's win percentage in domestic cup finals, winning seven of 10 while in charge of Arsenal.

75 – Leroy Sane's goal ratio percentage when hitting the target. He's scored with three of his four efforts on goal in this season's Carabao Cup.

193 – The number of times these two have met in all competitions over the years. Arsenal dominate the head-to-head with 97 wins to Manchester City's 51, with 45 draws.

1993 – Arsenal last won this competition 25 years ago, defeating Sheffield Wednesday 2-1 at Wembley Stadium. Winning goalscorer Steve Morrow broke his arm in the post-match celebrations.

Advertisement block