Skip to main content Skip to site footer
EFL Awards

#EFL2018: EFL Awards

27 December 2018

As the calendar year comes to a close, take a look back at some of the most memorable moments on and off the pitch across the EFL, celebrated at the 2018 EFL Awards ceremony.

EFL stars of the past, present and future once again gathered for an evening to celebrate excellence both on and off the pitch in the EFL, as the 13th annual EFL Awards ceremony took place at The Hilton Hotel on Park Lane, London.

Over 800 guests were in attendance at a sold out event to celebrate the best of the EFL from the past season. 

New for 2018 was a Special Recognition Award, celebrating the EFL’s continued commitment to Youth Development. A star-studded Club Developed XI was announced, showcasing players ‘born and raised’ in the EFL, as well as the excellent work of EFL clubs in developing some of the most talented footballers in the country.

Ryan Sessegnon took home a record five awards on the night, whilst John Motson MBE and his recognisable voice were rewarded for his 50-year career in broadcasting.


The 2018 EFL Awards winners are as follows:

Sky Bet Player of the Season
Ryan Sessegnon, Bradley Dack and Billy Kee were named the Sky Bet Players of the Season for their respective divisions.
All three were central to Fulham’s, Blackburn Rovers’ and Accrington Stanley’s push for promotion, contributing over 50 goals and 20 assists between them in League action.

EA Sports Young Player of the Season
Ryan Sessegnon was also named the EA Sports Young Player of the Season at the 2018 EFL Awards.
The 17-year-old beat off competition from Norwich City’s James Maddison and Wolves’ Ruben Neves, both of which are now enjoying life in the Premier League, to collect the honour after a stellar 2017/18 season for the Cottagers.
Mitre Goal of the Year
Luton Town’s Olly Lee won the Mitre Goal of the Season for his memorable strike against Cambridge United – where he struck the ball from deep in his own half and over the ‘keepers head.

Football Manager Team of the Season
The overall Football Manager Team of the Season for across the EFL was announced on the night of the 2018 EFL Awards.
The XI featured six players from the Sky Bet Championship, three from Sky Bet League One, two from Sky Bet League Two, with John Coleman of Accrington Stanley managing the side.
John Ruddy
Ryan Sessegnon
Charlie Mulgrew 
Conor Coady
Nathan Byrne
Bradley Dack
Ruben Neves
James Maddison
Billy Kee
Bobby Reid
Adebayo Akinfenwa



Sir Tom Finney Award
Former Southampton and Bristol Rovers striker Rickie Lambert received the prestigious Sir Tom Finney Award at the 2018 EFL Awards.
The Sir Tom Finney Award is presented to a player who has had an exceptional career in the EFL and epitomises the man after which this award is named. This special award gives the EFL the opportunity to recognise players who, like Sir Tom before them, have set standards for others to aspire to and reached the end of a truly outstanding playing career.
Playing for nine clubs and scoring more than 215 goals in over 600 games, Rickie Lambert played and scored in every division in English professional football; winning three promotions and personal accolades in a hugely successful 18-year career. 



Contribution to League Football
John Motson MBE was recognised with the Contribution to League Football Award at the 2018 EFL Awards.
The Award is the EFL’s most prestigious award and is presented annually by the Board of the EFL to an individual who has given a lifetime’s service to the professional game on and off the pitch. 
Motty has been an English football commentator since 1971. He has been ever-present in football throughout the years, commentating on over 2,000 football matches across the league and its competitions. His 50-year career has seen him witness some of the biggest moments in football history.



EFL Club Developed XI

Joe Hart - Manchester City (Shrewsbury Town)

Ryan Sessegnon - Fulham

Harry Maguire - Leicester City (Sheffield United)

John Stones - Manchester City (Barnsley)

Kyle Walker - Manchester City (Sheffield United)

Jonjo Shelvey - Newcastle United (Charlton Athletic)

Aaron Ramsey - Arsenal (Cardiff City)

Lewis Cook - AFC Bournemouth (Leeds United)

Dele Alli - Tottenham Hotspur (Milton Keynes Dons)

Raheem Sterling - Manchester City (Queens Park Rangers)

Callum Wilson - AFC Bournemouth (Coventry City)


Amaze Realize Family Club of the Year

Sky Bet Championship: Reading

Sky Bet League One: Blackburn Rovers

Sky Bet League Two: Luton Town



Community Club of the Year

Derby County 


PFA Player in the Community

Joe Bryan – Bristol City


LFE Apprentice of the Year

Sky Bet Championship: Ryan Sessegnon - Fulham

Sky Bet League One: Anthony Hartigan – AFC Wimbledon

Sky Bet League Two: Ben Wilmot - Stevenage


Supporter of the Year

Mustafa El-Bayati – Northampton Town 



Advertisement block