Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Checkatrade Trophy

Player of the Round: Vote for the top performer from latest group games

Top 5 revealed from the second round of the group stage matches

3 November 2017

Following the completion of the second round of fixtures in the group stages of the Checkatrade Trophy, the shortlist for the Player of the Round has been revealed.

The vote gives fans the chance to pick out their preferred player and present the award to the winner. This new award has been set up by title sponsors Checkatrade and is open to all players taking part in this season’s Checkatrade Trophy.

The conclusion of the second round of fixtures saw a number of standout performances, including the second consecutive 4-3 thriller involving AFC Wimbledon, this time beating Tottenham Hotspur U21s.

Portsmouth, Shrewsbury Town and Wigan Athletic also impressed with comprehensive home wins.

The Checkatrade Trophy Player of the Round shortlist for the second group stage matches is as follows:

· Reece Brown (Forest Green Rovers)
· Tom Hopper (Scunthorpe United)
· Matt Clarke (Portsmouth)
· Jordan Maguire-Drew (Lincoln City)
· Toby Sibbick (AFC Wimbledon)

The Checkatrade Trophy Player of the Round competition gives fans the opportunity to vote for the player they feel starred in the first round of fixtures.

An independent football expert selected the five worthy players that make up the shortlist and now supporters have the chance to vote for the final two via

The two players with the most votes will then be considered by a judging panel consisting of representatives from the EFL, before the overall winner is revealed.

Every fan who votes will be entered into a prize draw, with one lucky supporter getting the chance to present the Checkatrade Trophy Player of the Round award to the winning player and win tickets to the final of the competition at Wembley in April.

Fans have until 9am on Tuesday 7th November to register their votes for the award. To vote for the player you feel deserves to be the Checkatrade Trophy Player of the Round, click here.

Advertisement block