Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Wembley Stadium: Happy 10th Birthday

19 May 2017

It's a landmark year in English football with the 30th anniversary of the EFL Play-Offs, and Wembley Stadium celebrating its 10th birthday.

Since the stadium’s official opening on Saturday 19th May 2007, 166 domestic, European and international men’s and women’s football teams have graced the Wembley turf across a variety of competitions and friendlies.

To mark the anniversary, and in a show of gratitude to all the clubs, Wembley Stadium displayed each of the club or national colours on the famous arch, with the name and crests also shown on the outside of the stadium.

To celebrate our 🎂 we've lit the arch to honour the 166 teams who've played at the new Wembley. Can you spot yours?

— Wembley Stadium (@wembleystadium) May 19, 2017

As a celebration of Wembley’s 10th birthday, and to recognise the start of the 2017 Sky Bet EFL Play-Off Finals - the 30th anniversary of their introduction to English football - we’ve picked out 10 memorable Play-Off Final moments from the last 10 years at the national stadium.

2007 - Sky Bet League Two Play-Off Final: Bristol Rovers won the first Play-Off Final to be held at the rebuilt Wembley Stadium, beating Shrewsbury Town 3-1, with Richard Walker scoring their first goal.

2008 - Sky Bet Championship Play-Off Final: Hull City were promoted to the top flight for the first time in their history thanks to a stunning strike from Dean Windass, which sealed a 1-0 victory over Bristol City.

2009 - Sky Bet Championship Play-Off Final: Wade Elliott was the hero for Burnley as he scored the only goal of the game against Sheffield United to send the Clarets into the top flight.

2010 - Sky Bet Championship Play-Off Final: A thrilling final saw Blackpool beat Cardiff City 3-2 in front of 82,244 fans, and Charlie Adam scored the Seasiders' first of the match.

2011 - Sky Bet Championship Play-Off Final: Scott Sinclair was Swansea City's hat-trick hero in the 2011 final against Reading, completing their fairytale rise into the top flight with a 4-2 success.

2012 - Sky Bet League Two Play-Off Final: Nick Powell scored a breath-taking goal for Crewe Alexandra at Wembley in 2012, helping the Alex on their way to a 2-0 victory over Cheltenham Town.

2013 - Sky Bet Championship Play-Off Final: After 90 goalless minutes, the 2013 final between Crystal Palace and Watford went to extra-time. The Eagles were awarded a penalty in the 106th minute and Kevin Phillips kept his cool to fire his side into the top flight.

2014 - Sky Bet Championship: Down to 10 men and being pinned back by Derby County, QPR needed something special if they were to win the 2014 final. Step forward Bobby Zamora. The striker found the net in the dying moments to seal a memorable promotion.

2015 - Sky Bet League One Play-Off Final: A Jermaine Beckford-inspired Preston North End cruised into the Championship in 2015, with the striker hitting a hat-trick in a 4-0 Play-Off Final win over Swindon Town.

2016 - Sky Bet League One Play-Off Final: Ahead through Ashley Fletcher's early opener, Barnsley's Adam Hammill took centre stage to extend the Tykes' lead in stunning fashion against Millwall, and they went on to win the match 3-1.

This years Sky Bet EFL Play-Off Finals kick-off on Saturday 20th May when Bradford City and Millwall lock horns in the Sky Bet League One showpiece.

Blackpool then meet Exeter City in the Sky Bet League Two Play-Off Final at Wembley on Sunday 28th May, before Huddersfield Town take on Reading for a place in the Premier League 24 hours later.

All three finals kick-off at 3pm and will be shown live on Sky Sports.

Advertisement block