Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Sky Bet EFL: 2016/17 season in brief

29 May 2017

Following Huddersfield Town’s Sky Bet Championship Play-Off Final victory over Reading, the 2016/17 EFL season is officially over!

Now, all eyes turn to the 2017/18 season, and it won’t be long before the planning begins. The date for your diary? 21st June 2017… #FixtureReleaseDay. 

This season has been a truly memorable one, with twists, turns, and triumphant tales. Here’s a little recap of the culmination of the past nine months. 

Newcastle United were crowned champions of the Sky Bet Championship, snatching the title away from Brighton & Hove Albion in the dying minutes of the final game. 

The Seagulls were still promoted, however, in second place, and will be joined in the top flight by Huddersfield Town after their Wembley win over Reading. 

Champions: Newcastle United 
Runners-up: Brighton & Hove Albion 
Play-Off winners: Huddersfield Town 
Relegated: Blackburn Rovers, Wigan Athletic, Rotherham United 
Relegated from the Premier League: Hull City, Middlesbrough, Sunderland 

In Sky Bet League One, Sheffield United were the EFL’s star performers, romping to the title and amassing a century of points in the process. 

That meant back-to-back promotions for boss Chris Wilder, who had won Sky Bet League Two with Northampton Town the season prior. 

Bolton Wanderers won the race for second with three points on the final day, and it was Millwall who emerged victorious in the Play-Off Final, courtesy of Steve Morison’s late winner under the arch. 

Champions: Sheffield United 
Runners-up: Bolton Wanderers 
Play-Off winners: Millwall 
Relegated: Port Vale, Swindon Town, Coventry City, Chesterfield

The Sky Bet League Two season ended in incredible fashion with Portsmouth, who were sitting third at the start of the final day, winning the title on goal difference ahead of Plymouth Argyle. 

Doncaster Rovers sealed promotion earlier than both sides, but let their lead slip, ending the season in third spot. 

The trio will be joined in English football’s third tier by Blackpool, who won a record-breaking fifth Play-Off Final, defeating Exeter City 2-1 at Wembley. 

Champions: Portsmouth 
Runners-up: Plymouth Argyle 
Promoted: Doncaster Rovers 
Play-Off winners: Blackpool 
Relegated: Hartlepool United, Leyton Orient 
Promoted from The National League: Lincoln City, Forest Green Rovers 


Advertisement block