Skip to main content Skip to site footer

EFL: James Rodwell to continue role as EFL representative on FA Board

31 July 2017

The EFL has confirmed that EFL Board Member James Rodwell will continue to represent EFL clubs on the FA Board for the 2017/18 season.

Following recent FA governance reforms, the EFL is now able to nominate only one representative to the FA Board and James’ appointment was confirmed unanimously at last week’s EFL Board meeting. In addition, the EFL and the Premier League will jointly appoint a third Board Member to represent both organisations in due course.

The EFL would like to publicly thank Jez Moxey who is no longer able to represent the EFL on the FA Board as a result of the governance reforms.

James was first appointed onto the FA Board in 2016 and has been an EFL Director since 2013. He will continue to fulfil these roles alongside his duties as Chief Executive of Scunthorpe United.

James Rodwell said: “I am delighted to have been handed the opportunity to once again represent my colleagues from across the EFL on the FA Board. It is an honour to have their backing and I look forward to representing the EFL’s interests and its clubs in this role.

“I would like to express my sincere thanks to the Chairman and Directors of Scunthorpe United for allowing me to continue on the Board of the FA.”

As well as being entitled to nominate its representatives to the FA Board, the EFL also provides six members on the FA Council, with EFL clubs continuing to appoint two non-EFL Board members as in previous seasons.

Steve Curwood (Fleetwood Town) and Katrien Meire (Charlton Athletic) have been elected to the FA Council following a ballot amongst the EFL’s 72 clubs for 2017/18.

The remaining four places are to be filled with representatives from the EFL Board, with EFL Chairman Ian Lenagan being joined by Moxey (Burton Albion), John Nixon (Carlisle United) and Rodwell.

In addition, Rob Coar (Blackburn Rovers) and Moxey will represent the EFL on the Football Regulatory Authority while Cliff Crown (Brentford), Lenagan, Nixon and Rodwell will sit on the Professional Game Board.

Further Committee appointments will be confirmed in due course.

Advertisement block