Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Checkatrade Trophy

Checkatrade Trophy: Group stage draw complete

12 July 2017

The 16 groups for the 2017/18 Checkatrade Trophy have now been drawn.

The groups, which are split into Northern and Southern sections, each contain three EFL clubs, and one invited under-21 team following Wednesday afternoon's draw.

EFL clubs have been placed into their respective groups in order to minimise overall travel for the clubs and fans following feedback. This process will be reviewed at the end of the season.

Invited under-21 teams will play all group games away from home.

The first round of group stage fixtures will take place week commencing 28th August 2017.

The groups are as follows:

Northern Section

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Carlisle United Accrington Stanley Blackburn Rovers Crewe Alexandra
Fleetwood Town Blackpool Bury Oldham Athletic
Morecambe Wigan Athletic Rochdale Port Vale
Leicester City Middlesbrough Stoke City Newcastle United
Group E Group F Group G Group H
Coventry City Bradford City Lincoln City Doncaster Rovers
Shrewsbury Town Chesterfield Mansfield Town Grimsby Town
Walsall Rotherham United Notts County Scunthorpe United
West Bromwich Albion Manchester City Everton



Southern Section

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Charlton Athletic Colchester United Bristol Rovers Exeter City
Crawley Town Gillingham Swindon Town Plymouth Argyle
Portsmouth Southend United Wycombe Wanderers Yeovil Town
Fulham Reading West Ham United Chelsea
Group E Group F Group G Group H
Cheltenham Town AFC Wimbledon Milton Keynes Dons Cambridge United
Forest Green Rovers Barnet Oxford United Northampton Town
Newport County Luton Town Stevenage Peterborough United
Swansea City Tottenham Hotspur Brighton & Hove Albion Southampton

Advertisement block