Skip to main content Skip to site footer

EFL Awards: Stars to be recognised at 2017 Awards

3 February 2017

Football stars and the unsung heroes of the EFL will once again gather for an evening of celebration at the 12th annual EFL Awards.

The ceremony has been confirmed to take place on Sunday 9th April 2017 at The Hilton Hotel on Park Lane, London.

It is anticipated to be another fantastic evening, celebrating excellence both on and off the pitch, with the football community given the opportunity to recognise the stars of 2016 across 14 different categories.

The 2016 winners were announced at a gala ceremony at Manchester Central in front of more than 600 guests, with awards for clubs, players, managers, supporters and legends of the game.  

Judged by panels of leading experts from the football and media industry, the most prestigious accolade of the night is the Contribution to League Football Award which recognises long-standing and exceptional service to The League. The late Jimmy Hill, Peter Shilton and Jimmy Armfield have all previously been recognised for their contribution.

Former Bolton Wanderers and England striker Kevin Davies took home the Sir Tom Finney Award last year in recognition of his outstanding 22-year playing career, in which he amassed 820 career appearances.  

Also revealed on the evening are the Player of the Year awards with individual winners selected across all three divisions. Burnley’s Andre Gray collected the prestigious Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year for his part in helping the club gain promotion to the Premier League by scoring 23 goals in a prolific season.

Last year’s Sky Bet League Two winner, Oxford United midfielder Kemar Roofe, has gone on to have a successful first season with Leeds United, while the 2016 Championship Apprentice of the Year, Ademola Lookman, recently made the move from Charlton Athletic to Premier League side Everton.

The winner of the eagerly anticipated Young Player of the Year will be in star studded company joining an illustrious list of previous winners including Gareth Bale, Nathaniel Clyne and Dele Alli.

Supporters will also have the opportunity to nominate fellow fans for the Supporter of the Year title, as well as vote for the Goal of the Year.

Categories are as follows:

Community Club of the Year
PFA Player in the Community
Family Club of the Year
LFE Apprentice of the Year
Supporter of the Year
Goal of the Year
Players of the Year (one per division)
Young Player of the Year
Team of the Season
Sir Tom Finney Award
Contribution to League Football

Updates on each Award category will follow in the coming weeks and will be published on

Advertisement block