Skip to main content Skip to site footer

iFollow: This weekend sees first EFL matches streamed live globally

4 August 2017

The opening matches of the Sky Bet EFL season will be available globally to overseas supporters on the EFL’s new digital streaming platform, iFollow.

In a first for English football, 31* EFL matches will be available to an international audience as the 2017/18 Sky Bet EFL campaign gets under way on Friday 4th August with Nottingham Forest hosting Millwall in the Sky Bet Championship.

In total, more than 1,500 matches will be available in HD quality, with iFollow showing every EFL match live unless that match has been selected by the EFL’s overseas broadcast partners.

Subscribers will pay the equivalent of £110 per season for the service which will provide coverage of up to 46 live games per club. Individual match passes have also been made available for the equivalent of £5 per match, as have new free-to-download apps for 55 EFL clubs** which are available for free from the App Store and Google Play Store.

Fans based in the UK and Republic of Ireland will also have access to live audio match commentary, highlights packages and exclusive content as part of the new offering.

*League matches selected for live TV coverage, including those on Sky Sports and one other Saturday 3pm kick-off that will be broadcast internationally, are NOT be available to stream on iFollow or comparative club services. 58 EFL clubs offer the iFollow service with the remaining 14 clubs able to offer live streaming to international fans on a comparative service.

**New apps have been built for 55 of the 58 clubs within the EFL Digital agreement. The three remaining clubs (Brentford, Cardiff City, and Nottingham Forest) have produced their own apps in conjunction with the iFollow service. The following clubs are not currently part of the EFL Digital agreement and therefore have not launched affiliated EFL Digital apps: Accrington Stanley, Aston Villa, Birmingham City, Bristol City, Charlton Athletic, Derby County, Fulham, Hull City, Forest Green Rovers, Leeds United, Middlesbrough, Queens Park Rangers, Sunderland and Wolverhampton Wanderers.

Advertisement block