Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Monthly Awards

EFL Awards: The 2017 ceremony as it happened

9 April 2017

The annual EFL Awards sees clubs, players and fans come together to recognise the stars of the three divisions, across 15 different award categories.

The best of the EFL were honoured on Sunday 9th April, with awards for players, managers and supporters, as well as worthy recognition of some of the great work being undertaken by clubs and their Trusts in communities up and down the country.

Here, we revealed the winners as they were announced on stage at the ceremony, which was hosted in London.

Winners: Click here to see a full list of EFL Awards winners

10:08pm: The final award of the night is the EFL's most prestigious award, recognising someone's contribution to League football. This year's recipient - the legendary Barry Fry!

This is absolutely class... Talk about passion... Take a bow Baz... 🙌🏼

— Jack collison (@jackcollison) April 9, 2017

10:02pm: The Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season is Brighton & Hove Albion's Anthony Knockaert!

The @SkyBetChamp Player of the Season secured.

Next target for @OfficialBHAFC's @AKnockaert... promotion. 🔵⚪️

— EFL (@EFL) April 9, 2017

9:59pm: The Sky Bet League One Player of the Season is Sheffield United's Billy Sharp!

Congrats @billysharp10 thanks for wearing our "Man of Men" badge. #Blades

— Prostate Cancer UK (@ProstateUK) April 9, 2017

9:53pm: The Sky Bet League Two Player of the Season is Doncaster Rovers' John Marquis!

The first @drfc_official striker to hit 20+ goals for more than 40 years.@SkyBetLeagueTwo Player of the Year, @JohnMarquis09 🔴⚪️

— EFL (@EFL) April 9, 2017

9:52pm: Here we go; the Player of the Season award announcements are imminent.

9:45pm: Here it is; the Football Manager Team of the Season...

The @FootballManager Team of the Season! 👏


— EFL (@EFL) April 9, 2017

9:42pm: It's the Team of the Season time, sponsored by Football Manager!

9:37pm: The overall winner of the EFL Supporter of the Year is Doncaster Rovers' Paul Mayfield!

Huge congratulations to all the staff at #drfc especially Paul Mayfield, just a great man 👌

— Paul Dickov (@OfficialPDickov) April 9, 2017

9:36pm: It's time to recognise EFL fans who go above and beyond to support their club. The divisional winners are Pav Samra (Derby - Championship), Zoe Edge (Chesterfield - League One) and Paul Mayfield (Doncaster - League Two).

9:30pm: The Mitre Goal of the Year winner is... Steve Sidwell for his stunning strike from the halfway line for Brighton against Bristol City.

Goal of the Year award won; @OfficialBHAFC's @sjsidwell is now on media duty at the #EFLAwards! 🎥

— EFL (@EFL) April 9, 2017

9.29pm: Mitre Goal of the Year time...

9.25pm: It's the Checkatrade Community Club of the Year Award, and the winner is Portsmouth. A big congratulations to Pompey.

9:19pm: The PFA Player in the Community is Doncaster Rovers' Andy Butler - congratulations!

Winner: The @PFA Player in the Community is @drfc_official’s @butler__andy! 👏


— EFL (@EFL) April 9, 2017

9:18pm: The PFA Player of the Community recognises work undertaken by players off the field, and that award is next.

9:16pm: Ollie Watkins: "I just want to score goals." - Congratulations to our Young Player of the Year winner.

9:15pm: The winner of the EA Sports Young Player of the Season is Exeter City's Ollie Watkins!

Winner: The @EASPORTS Young Player of the Season is @OfficialECFC’s @watkins_! 👏


— EFL (@EFL) April 9, 2017

9:14pm: Next, it's the EA Sports Young Player of the Season.

9:08pm: The LFE Apprentice of the Year for the Championship is Nottingham Forest's Ben Brereton!

Great moment! Like to say thanks to everyone at the club that's supported me staff and players also huge thanks to all my friends and family

— Ben Brereton (@benbreo) April 9, 2017

9:07pm: The LFE Apprentice of the Year for League One is Scunthorpe United's Lewis Butroid!

9:06pm: The LFE Apprentice of the Year for League Two is Leyton Orient's Myles Judd!

9:05pm: Next, it's the LFE Apprentice of the Year, with one player from each division being recognised.

8:55pm: First up, it's the Nick Kicks Family Club of the Year. The winners are... Millwall! Congratulations to the Lions, and all shortlisted clubs.

It’s time for the #NickKicks Family Club of the Year. We have three divisional winners, with one overall winner.

Shortlist... 👇

— EFL (@EFL) April 9, 2017

8:45: Dinner completed; it's time for the Awards...

7:30pm: We've heard from Brentford's Kevin O'Connor and got his feeling after he was honoured with the prestigious Sir Tom Finney Award.

🎥 - “I’m really proud - it’s a massive honour.”@BrentfordFC’s Kevin O’Connor reflects on receiving the Sir Tom Finney

— EFL (@EFL) April 9, 2017

Coming through the @BrentfordFC academy, O’Connor made 501 appearances in 16 years; 4th on the club’s all-time appearance list.

— EFL (@EFL) April 9, 2017

7:00pm: It's now onto dinner for the guests at the EFL Awards, and this is an opportunity for everyone to cast their vote for the Mitre Goal of the Year.

#EFLAwards guests have the chance to vote for the @MitreSports Goal of the Year winner. 💥

These are the five goals in contention...

— EFL (@EFL) April 9, 2017

6:50pm: The EFL Awards ceremony is under way. There's one pre-dinner presentation, and that's the prestigious Sir Tom Finney award. The award recognises talent, loyalty and commitment and this year's recipient is Brentford's Kevin O'Connor - you can read more about that by clicking here.  

6:30pm: Seats please! The EFL Awards dinner is about to commence, with guests now taking their seats following the drinks reception.

6:00pm: Welcome to the 2017 EFL Awards, celebrating excellence on and off the pitch across the EFL. We will be announcing the winners on Twitter @EFL, and updating this page throughout the evening.

The #EFLAwards stage is nearly complete. 📸

We look forward to welcoming club representatives, fans and our sponsors to tonight’s ceremony.

— EFL (@EFL) April 9, 2017

Advertisement block