Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Monthly Awards

EFL Awards: Football Manager Team of the Season revealed

10 April 2017

The Football Manager Team of the Season was announced at the EFL Awards with XI of the best performers being recognised.

In an attacking selection, the forward line is made up of Dwight Gayle (Newcastle United), Billy Sharp (Sheffield United) and Chris Wood (Leeds United).

There’s a midfield three of Josh Morris (Scunthorpe United), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town) and Anthony Knockaert (Brighton & Hove Albion), with the latter also being named the Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season at the night's star-studded ceremony.

The backline features Conor McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town) and Enda Stevens (Portsmouth) in the full-back positions, while Pontus Jansson (Leeds United) and Sonny Bradley (Plymouth Argyle) are the central defenders. In goal, it’s Brighton & Hove Albion’s David Stockdale.

Darren Ferguson was selected as the manager, meanwhile, having guided Doncaster Rovers to Sky Bet League Two promotion.

The @FootballManager Team of the Season! 👏


— EFL (@EFL) April 9, 2017

Here is the Football Manager Team of the Season in full:

Goalkeeper: David Stockdale (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Defender: Enda Stevens (Portsmouth)
Defender: Pontus Jansson (Leeds United)
Defender: Sonny Bradley (Plymouth Argyle)
Defender: Conor McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town)

Midfielder: Josh Morris (Scunthorpe United)
Midfielder: Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town)
Midfielder: Anthony Knockaert (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Forward: Chris Wood (Leeds United)
Forward: Billy Sharp (Sheffield United)
Forward: Dwight Gayle (Newcastle United)

Manager: Darren Ferguson (Doncaster Rovers)

EFL Awards: Click here to see a full list of award winners

Advertisement block