Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Monthly Awards

EFL Awards: Brighton’s Steve Sidwell wins Mitre Goal of the Year

10 April 2017

The best EFL goal of the 2016 calendar year? That honour went to Brighton & Hove Albion’s Steve Sidwell at the EFL Awards.

The quest to find the best goal of 2016 started when clubs were asked to submit their stand-out strikes, before a top 10 shortlist was devised and revealed on Football On 5.

That 10 was then reduced to five via a public vote, then EFL Awards guests were able to vote for their favourite from the five at the star-studded ceremony. The goal securing the most votes was announced as the winner.

And Seagulls’ midfielder Sidwell took the honour for his long-range effort against Bristol City in November 2016.

Winner: The @MitreSports Goal of the Year award winner is @OfficialBHAFC’s @sjsidwell. 💥


— EFL (@EFL) April 9, 2017

“It was straight off the big toe,” Sidwell joked about the goal, which he dedicated to team-mate Anthony Knockaert, who was absent from the game following the death of his father.

“There were some top-class goals in there and thankfully I’ve come out on top. Thanks to everyone for voting.”

When asked what prompted his decision to try his luck from range, without hesitation, his summary was as direct as his effort, and his effort was one that sent the Seagulls en route to a 2-0 victory.

“I’ve got no pace and I can’t outrun defenders so that is the only way for me to score.”

Sidwell pipped efforts from Derby County’s Darren Bent, Portsmouth’s Michael Doyle, Barnsley’s Adam Hammill and Bristol City’s Lee Tomlin.

EFL Awards: Click here to see a full list of award winners

Advertisement block