Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Sky Bet League 1 Team of the Season - 2015/16

29 May 2016

After another thrilling Sky Bet League 1 season, we’ve picked out 11 top-performing players, plus a manager, to form our Team of the Season.

Goalkeeper: Jon McLaughlin (Burton Albion)

McLaughlin was the only goalkeeper voted by club managers in the top 15 players in any division, proving just how highly rated he is. Burton conceded a Sky Bet League 1 low of 37 goals this term.

Defender: Rico Henry (Walsall)

One of the brightest prospects in The Football League, 18-year-old Henry has become a pivotal part of Walsall's team and picked up the League's Young Player of the Month award in September.

Defender: Craig Morgan (Wigan Athletic)

The vastly experienced Morgan was made club captain immediately after joining Wigan last summer. He scored one of the crucial goals of the Latics' season – a 96th-minute winner against Gillingham in January.

Defender: Stephen Darby (Bradford City)

The ever-reliable Darby started every game of Bradford City's Sky Bet League 1 campaign, and they conceded just 40 goals to seal a place in the end-of-season play-offs.

Midfielder: John Mousinho (Burton Albion)

Burton Albion's captain fantastic Mousinho played every game as the Brewers secured back-to-back promotions to rise to the Sky Bet Championship for the first time in the club's history.

Midfielder: Bradley Dack (Gillingham)

Dack, 22, was the shining light in Gillingham's campaign, scoring 13 times in the league and assisting 11 goals, which earned him the Sky Bet League 1 Player of the Year award.

Midfielder: Romaine Sawyers (Walsall)

A series of dominant displays in the Walsall midfield throughout the season won Sawyers plaudits across the division, and he was second in the Player of the Year vote.

Midfielder: Yanic Wildschut (Wigan Athletic)

After an initial loan spell at Wigan, Wildschut eventually joined on a permanent deal from Middlesbrough. He went on to play a starring role in the Latics' title win, earning a place in the division's top 15 players, voted for by club managers.

Forward: Nicky Ajose (Swindon Town)

Following a debut goal against Crewe Alexandra, Ajose never looked back. The Swindon Town front man scored 24 of the Robins' 64 league goals, and came third in the division's Player of the Year vote.

Forward: Will Grigg (Wigan Athletic)

“Will Grigg's on fire; your defence is terrified”– the Wigan fans will never get tired of hearing that song, and it's justified with the striker having scoring 25 times en route to their Sky Bet League 1 title success. 

Forward: Lee Gregory (Millwall)

Hitman Gregory was vital to Millwall's good form in the second half of the season, bagging 14 goals after Christmas to guide the Lions to the play-offs. 

Manager:Gary Caldwell (Wigan Athletic)

Wigan made a bold choice when selecting Caldwell as the man to lead them in Sky Bet League 1 after relegation last season, but it paid dividends as the rookie boss guided them to the title with 87 points from 46 outings.

Advertisement block