Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Shortlist for Mitre Goal of the Year announced

19 March 2016

The Football League has teamed up with Mitre and Channel 5’s Football League Tonight show to give fans the chance to vote for their choice of the best Football League goal of last year.

After each club was invited to submit their best strike of 2015 as part of the Mitre Goal of the Year competition, Football League Tonight revealed the top 10 goals on Saturday’s show. 

Fans can now watch all the contenders and vote for their favourite by clicking the 'vote' button below:


The players and clubs included in the vote are:

Doncaster Rovers – Andy Williams
Fleetwood Town – David Ball
Hartlepool United – Michael Duckworth
Leyton Orient – Blair Turgott
Luton Town – Luke Guttridge
Oxford United – Kemar Roofe
Preston North End – Jermaine Beckford
Reading – Danny Williams
Sheffield Wednesday – Marco Matias
Walsall – Romaine Sawyers

Voting closes at midday on Friday 1st April when the 10 goals will be whittled down to five remaining contenders. The overall winner will then be decided on the night at the 2016 Football League Awards. This year marks the 11th anniversary of the event, which takes place at Manchester Central on Sunday, 17th April 2016.

Click here for terms and conditions.

Advertisement block