Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Channel 5’s Football League Tonight to reveal top 10 goals of 2015

17 March 2016

Watch the goals in contention for the Mitre Goal of the Year award at the Football League Awards.

Goals from each of the 72 Football League clubs are in contention to be named the Mitre Goal of the Year at the Football League Awards 2016.

Channel 5’s Football League Tonight show will this weekend reveal which 10 goals from the list will now be put forward for a fan vote. The selection of the 10 best goals scored by League clubs form across Football League competitions in 2015 will be shown by George Riley and Kelly Cates on the Channel 5 programme on Saturday evening, along with details of how fans can vote for their favourite.

Each of the 72 Football League clubs nominated their best goal from 2015 as their own ‘Mitre Goal of the Year’ for the competition. The 10 best strikes have been selected to make the cut, with the fan vote then helping to decide the final shortlist of 5 goals.

Previous winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year award include Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2015), Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2014), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest - 2013), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City - 2012), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2011).

The overall winner of the best goal from 2015 will be decided at the Football League Awards which take place at Manchester Central on Sunday, 17th April, 2016.

Club NameGoalscorerMatch DateOpposition
Accrington StanleySean McConville21/11/2015Cambridge United
AFC WimbledonDannie Bulman (his second goal v Accrington)20/10/2015Accrington Stanley
BarnetAaron McLean12/12/2015Yeovil Town
BarnsleySam Winnall14/04/2015Notts County
Birmingham CityJacques Maghoma28/12/2015Milton Keynes Dons
Blackburn RoversCraig Conway02/10/2015Rotherham United
BlackpoolMark Cullen28/12/2015Barnsley
Bolton WanderersGary Madine05/12/2016Cardiff City
Bradford CityJames Hanson18/02/2015Leyton Orient
BrentfordSergi Canos28/12/2016Reading
Brighton & Hove AlbionSolly March07/11/2015MK Dons
Bristol CityMatt Smith06/01/2015Gillingham
Bristol RoversBilly Bodin25/10/2015Newport County
BurnleyScott Arfield24/10/2015Blackburn Rovers
Burton AlbionPhil Edwards02/05/2015Cambridge United
BuryJoe Riley12/09/2015Sheffield United
Cambridge UnitedLuke Berry12/12/2015Plymouth Argyle
Cardiff CityScott Malone01/08/2015QPR
Carlisle UnitedDanny Grainger22/11/2015Portsmouth
Charlton AthleticAhmed Kashi25/08/2015Peterborough United
ChesterfieldDan Gardner05/09/2015Wigan Athletic
Colchester UnitedAlex Gilbey08/08/2015Blackpool
Coventry CityAdam Armstrong15/08/2015Millwall
Crawley TownGwion Edwards29/09/2015Newport County
Crewe AlexandraGreg Leigh07/03/2015Scunthorpe
Dagenham & RedbridgeAshley Hemmings07/03/2015Tranmere Rovers
Derby CountyGeorge Thorne24/10/2015Huddersfield Town
Doncaster RoversAndy Williams28/12/2015Oldham Athletic
Exeter CityClinton Morrison11/10/2015Stevenage
Fleetwood TownDavid Ball29/03/2015Preston North End
FulhamRoss McCormack25/09/2015Queens Park Rangers
GillinghamBradley Dack08/08/2015Sheffield United
Hartlepool UnitedMichael Duckworth02/05/2015Carlisle United
Huddersfield TownJoel Lynch10/01/2015Watford
Hull CityDavid Meyler20/10/2015Ipswich Town
Ipswich TownCole Skuse14/04/2015Cardiff City
Leeds UnitedAlex Mowatt07/11/2015Huddersfield Town
Leyton OrientBlair Turgott18/08/2015Stevenage
Luton TownLuke Guttridge05/09/2015Cambridge United
Mansfield TownMalvind Benning10/10/2015Newport County AFC
MiddlesbroughPatrick Bamford03/03/2015Millwall
MillwallAiden O'Brien12/09/2015Crewe Alexandra
Milton Keynes DonsRob Hall01/04/2015Leyton Orient
MorecambeShaun Miller17/10/2015AFC Wimbledon
Newport CountyAlex Rodman19/12/2015AFC Wimbledon
Northampton TownJohn-Joe O'Toole12/12/2015Luton Town
Nottingham ForestBen Osborn17/01/2015Derby County
Notts CountyGenaro Snijders29/08/2015Morecambe
Oldham AthleticDominic Poleon11/04/2015Sheffield United
Oxford UnitedKemar Roofe11/08/2015Brentford
Peterborough UnitedErhun Oztumer31/10/2015Coventry City
Plymouth ArgyleGraham Carey10/11/2015Millwall
Port ValeSam Kelly28/12/2015Bury
PortsmouthAdam McGurk19/09/2015Oxford United
Preston North EndJermaine Beckford10/05/2015Chesterfield
Queens Park RangersTjaronn Chery03/10/2015Bolton Wanderers
ReadingDanny Williams20/12/2015Blackburn Rovers
RochdaleJoe Rafferty14/02/2015Peterborough United
Rotherham UnitedGrant Ward02/10/2015Burnley
Scunthorpe UnitedKevin van Veen10/10/2015Oldham Athletic
Sheffield UnitedJay McEveley10/02/2015Colchester United
Sheffield WednesdayMarco Matias22/08/2015Leeds United
Shrewsbury TownAbu Ogogo24/10/2015Bury
Southend UnitedJoe Pigott23/05/2015Wycombe Wanderers
StevenageChris Whelpdale11/10/2015Exeter City
Swindon TownBen Gladwin11/05/2015Sheffield United
WalsallRomaine Sawyers29/08/2015Blackpool
Wigan AthleticWill Grigg17/10/2015Colchester United
Wolverhampton WanderersJames Henry31/01/2015Bolton Wanderers
Wycombe WanderersAlfie Mawson24/03/2015Luton Town
Yeovil TownHarry Cornick19/09/2015Crawley Town
York CityRussell Penn14/04/2015Morecambe

Advertisement block