Skip to main content Skip to site footer

#FixtureReleaseDay: Sky Bet League Two Season 2016/17 - Key Dates

22 June 2016

Today's the day - the fixture list for the 2016/17 Sky Bet League Two season has been released!

Saturday 6th August sees a full schedule to get the new campaign under way, which includes relegated Doncaster Rovers travelling to Accrington Stanley, who missed out on automatic promotion on the final day of the 2015/16 season.

They’ve arrived! Here are all your key dates for the 2016/17 @SkyBetLeagueTwo season >>

— Sky Bet League Two (@SkyBetLeagueTwo) June 22, 2016
Of the other sides who dropped down from League One, Colchester United and Crewe Alexandra are also away – at Hartlepool United and Stevenage respectively – while Blackpool host Exeter City.

The two sides up from the National League both start at home. Cheltenham Town take on Leyton Orient, and Grimsby Town host Morecambe.

Portsmouth and Plymouth Argyle both missed out in last season's Play-Offs, and they kick-off at home with respective matches against Carlisle United and Luton Town.

Read more: Behind the scenes at the EFL - Fixtures Q&A with Competitions Manager Paul Snellgrove

The festive period is always an exciting time in the EFL calendar and there's plenty to look forward to in 2016/17.

Highlights of the Boxing Day schedule include a clash down south between Yeovil Town and Exeter. Blackpool travel to Grimsby in an intriguing New Year's Eve clash, while Shaun Derry will welcome his former employers in the first game of 2017 when Cambridge United host Notts County.

Read more: Season 2016/17 EFL match schedule confirmed

Sky Bet League Two reaches its climax on Saturday 6th May and if the final day is anything like last season, then fasten your seatbelts!

Crewe, Colchester and Blackpool all have home matches for their final fixture, with Doncaster travelling to Hartlepool United. Pompey and Plymouth will play the new boys in their last game - the former hosting Cheltenham and the Pilgrims travelling to Blundell Park.

Sky Bet League Two fixtures - key dates

Opening weekend:

Saturday 6th August 2016

Accrington Stanley v Doncaster Rovers
Blackpool v Exeter City
Cambridge United v Barnet
Cheltenham Town v Leyton Orient
Crawley Town v Wycombe Wanderers
Grimsby Town v Morecambe
Hartlepool United v Colchester United
Newport County v Mansfield Town
Plymouth Argyle v Luton Town
Portsmouth v Carlisle United
Stevenage v Crewe Alexandra
Yeovil Town v Notts County

Christmas and New Year:

Monday 26th December 2016

Cheltenham Town v Barnet
Crewe Alexandra v Carlisle United
Grimsby Town v Accrington Stanley
Hartlepool United v Blackpool
Leyton Orient v Crawley Town
Luton Town v Colchester United
Mansfield Town v Morecambe
Newport County v Portsmouth
Notts County v Doncaster Rovers
Plymouth Argyle v Wycombe Wanderers
Stevenage v Cambridge United
Yeovil Town v Exeter City

Saturday 31st December 2016

Cheltenham Town v Wycombe Wanderers
Crewe Alexandra v Accrington Stanley
Grimsby Town v Blackpool
Hartlepool United v Morecambe
Leyton Orient v Cambridge United
Luton Town v Barnet
Mansfield Town v Doncaster Rovers
Newport County v Exeter City
Notts County v Carlisle United
Plymouth Argyle v Crawley Town
Stevenage v Colchester United
Yeovil Town v Portsmouth

Monday 2nd January 2017

Accrington Stanley v Hartlepool United
Barnet v Plymouth Argyle
Blackpool v Mansfield Town
Cambridge United v Notts County
Carlisle United v Grimsby Town
Colchester United v Cheltenham Town
Crawley Town v Yeovil Town
Doncaster Rovers v Stevenage
Exeter City v Leyton Orient
Morecambe v Crewe Alexandra
Portsmouth v Luton Town
Wycombe Wanderers v Newport County

Final day:

Saturday 6th May 2017

Blackpool v Leyton Orient
Colchester United v Yeovil Town
Crawley Town v Mansfield Town
Crewe Alexandra v Barnet
Exeter City v Carlisle United
Grimsby Town v Plymouth Argyle
Hartlepool United v Doncaster Rovers
Luton Town v Morecambe
Newport County v Notts County
Portsmouth v Cheltenham Town
Stevenage v Accrington Stanley
Wycombe Wanderers v Cambridge United

Fixture list: Click here to see the 2016/17 Sky Bet League Two fixtures in full


Click on the club name to see their fixture list for Season 2016/17:

Cambridge United
Carlisle United
Cheltenham Town
Colchester United
Crawley Town
Crewe Alexandra
Doncaster Rovers
Exeter City
Grimsby Town
Hartlepool United
Leyton Orient
Luton Town
Mansfield Town
Newport County
Notts County
Plymouth Argyle
Wycombe Wanderrers
Yeovil Town

Please note: All fixtures are subject to change.

Advertisement block