Skip to main content Skip to site footer

#FixtureReleaseDay: Sky Bet League One Season 2016/17 - Key Dates

22 June 2016

The EFL fixtures have been released and the planning for Sky Bet League One Season 2016/17 can really begin!

After successive promotions, Bristol Rovers start life in Sky Bet League One at Scunthorpe United, while fellow newly-promoted sides Northampton Town, Oxford United and AFC Wimbledon play Fleetwood Town, Chesterfeld and Walsall respectively.

They’ve arrived! Here are all your key dates for the 2016/17 @SkyBetLeagueOne season >>

— Sky Bet League One (@SkyBetLeagueOne) June 22, 2016
Bolton Wanderers came down from the Championship and they host Chris Wilder's Sheffield United first, with all matches scheduled for Saturday 6th August. Charlton Athletic start back in Sky Bet League One on the road at Bury and Milton Keynes Dons go to Shrewsbury Town.

Gillingham face a relatively short trip to Southend United, and Bradford City and Millwall, who both lost out in last season's Play-Offs, host Port Vale and Oldham Athletic respectively.

Read more: Behind the scenes at the EFL - Fixtures Q&A with Competitions Manager Paul Snellgrove

The festive period is always a bumper schedule in the EFL and 2016/17 is no different with plenty to look forward to.

Northampton Town face near-neighbours Oxford United at the Kassam Stadium on Boxing Day, while Roots Hall will host Southend United and AFC Wimbledon. Elsewhere on 26th December, Charlton Athletic visit Milton Keynes Dons, Bolton host Shrewsbury and Coventry go on the road to Bristol Rovers.

Read more: Season 2016/17 EFL match schedule confirmed

The 2016/17 Sky Bet League One season then comes to a close on Sunday 30th April, which promises to be a thrilling day.

Peterborough United are on the road at Bolton Wanderers, Charlton Athletic host Swindon Town and Bristol Rovers go head-to-head with Millwall. Elsewhere, Bradford City go to Rochdale, MK Dons visit Walsall and Northampton Town host Gillingham.

Sky Bet League One fixtures - key dates

Opening weekend:

Saturday 6th August 2016

Bolton Wanderers v Sheffield United
Bradford City v Port Vale
Bury v Charlton Athletic
Millwall v Oldham Athletic
Northampton Town v Fleetwood Town
Oxford United v Chesterfield
Rochdale v Peterborough United
Scunthorpe United v Bristol Rovers
Shrewsbury Town v Milton Keynes Dons
Southend United v Gillingham
Swindon Town v Coventry City
Walsall v AFC Wimbledon

Christmas and New Year:

Monday 26th December 2016

Bolton Wanderers v Shrewsbury Town
Bradford City v Scunthorpe United
Bristol Rovers v Coventry City
Fleetwood Town v Bury
Millwall v Swindon Town
Milton Keynes Dons v Charlton Athletic
Oxford United v Northampton Town
Peterborough United v Gillingham
Port Vale v Walsall
Rochdale v Chesterfield
Sheffield United v Oldham Athletic
Southend United v AFC Wimbledon

Saturday 31st Decmeber 2016

Bolton Wanderers v Scunthorpe United
Bradford City v Bury
Bristol Rovers v AFC Wimbledon
Fleetwood Town v Oldham Athletic
Millwall v Gillingham
Milton Keynes Dons v Swindon Town
Oxford United v Walsall
Peterborough United v Coventry City
Port Vale v Chesterfield
Rochdale v Shrewsbury Town
Sheffield United v Northampton Town
Southend United v Charlton Athletic

Monday 2nd January 2017

AFC Wimbledon v Millwall
Bury v Sheffield United
Charlton Athletic v Bristol Rovers
Chesterfield v Milton Keynes Dons
Coventry City v Bolton Wanderers
Gillingham v Oxford United
Northampton Town v Bradford City
Oldham Athletic v Port Vale
Scunthorpe United v Peterborough United
Shrewsbury Town v Fleetwood Town
Swindon Town v Southend United
Walsall v Rochdale

Final day:

Sunday 30th April 2017

AFC Wimbledon v Oldham Athletic
Bolton Wanderers v Peterborough United
Bristol Rovers v Millwall
Charlton Athletic v Swindon Town
Fleetwood Town v Port Vale
Northampton Town v Gillingham
Oxford United v Shrewsbury Town
Rochdale v Bradford City
Scunthorpe United v Coventry City
Sheffield United v Chesterfield
Southend United v Bury
Walsall v Milton Keynes Dons

Fixture list: Click here to see the 2016/17 Sky Bet League One fixtures in full


Click on the club name to see their fixture list for Season 2016/17:

AFC Wimbledon
Bolton Wanderers
Bradford City
Bristol Rovers
Charlton Athletic
Coventry City
Fleetwood Town
Milton Keynes Dons
Northampton Town
Oldham Athletic
Oxford United
Peterborough United
Port Vale
Scunthorpe United
Sheffield United
Shrewsbury Town
Southend United
Swindon Town

Please note: All fixtures are subject to change.

Advertisement block