Skip to main content Skip to site footer

#FixtureReleaseDay: Sky Bet Championship Season 2016/17 - Key Dates

22 June 2016

The 2016/17 Sky Bet Championship fixtures have been released and fans can now plan for the next nine months of thrilling football!

Fulham and Newcastle will get the campaign under way on Friday 5th August when they meet in front of the Sky Sports cameras at Craven Cottage for a 7.45pm kick-off.

They’ve arrived! Here are all your key dates for the 2016/17 @SkyBetChamp season >>

— Sky Bet Championship (@SkyBetChamp) June 22, 2016
Nine fixtures will then be played on the opening Saturday of the season - 6th August. Burton Albion start life in the Championship at Nottingham Forest, while Wigan go to Bristol City on the first day.

Elsewhere, Barnsley face Ipswich on the road, and Derby County and Brighton & Hove Albion - two teams who reached last term's Play-Offs - go head-to-head at the iPro Stadium.

Two more matches will then be played on Sunday 7th August, being screened live on Sky Sports. Queens Park Rangers host Leeds United in a lunchtime kick-off, before Aston Villa start life in the Sky Bet Championship at Sheffield Wednesday (4.30pm).

Read more: Behind the scenes at the EFL - Fixtures Q&A with Competitions Manager Paul Snellgrove

The festive period is always an exciting time in the EFL calendar and there's plenty to look forward to in 2016/17.

Boxing Day's games include a trip to Villa Park for Burton Albion and a clash between Newcastle United and Sheffield Wednesday in the north east. Also on 26th December, two other mouth-watering clashes see Preston North End host Leeds United and Birmingham City visit Derby County.

Season 2016/17 in the Sky Bet Championship comes to a close on Sunday 7th May and the final day is set to be a thriller.

Aston Villa, Newcastle United and Norwich City all end on home soil, against Brighton, Barnsley and QPR respectively, while Burton host Reading. Elsewhere, Wigan welcome Leeds United to the DW and Sheffield Wednesday face Fulham.

Read more: Season 2016/17 EFL match schedule confirmed

Sky Bet Championship fixtures - key dates

Opening weekend:

Friday 5th August 2016

Sky Bet Championship

Fulham v Newcastle United (7.45pm - live on Sky Sports)

Saturday 6th August 2016

Sky Bet Championship

Birmingham City v Cardiff City
Blackburn Rovers v Norwich City
Bristol City v Wigan Athletic
Derby County v Brighton & Hove Albion
Huddersfield Town v Brentford
Ipswich Town v Barnsley
Nottingham Forest v Burton Albion
Reading v Preston North End
Rotherham United v Wolverhampton Wanderers

Sunday 7th August 2016

Sky Bet Championship

Queens Park Rangers v Leeds United (12.00pm - live on Sky Sports)
Sheffield Wednesday v Aston Villa (4.30pm - live on Sky Sports)

Christmas and New Year:

Monday 26th December 2016

Sky Bet Championship

Aston Villa v Burton Albion
Barnsley v Blackburn Rovers
Brentford v Cardiff City
Brighton & Hove Albion v Queens Park Rangers
Derby County v Birmingham City
Huddersfield Town v Nottingham Forest
Ipswich Town v Fulham
Newcastle United v Sheffield Wednesday
Preston North End v Leeds United
Reading v Norwich City
Rotherham United v Wigan Athletic
Wolverhampton Wanderers v Bristol City

Saturday 31st December 2016

Sky Bet Championship

Aston Villa v Leeds United
Barnsley v Birmingham City
Brentford v Norwich City
Brighton & Hove Albion v Cardiff City
Derby County v Wigan Athletic
Huddersfield Town v Blackburn Rovers
Ipswich Town v Bristol City
Newcastle United v Nottingham Forest
Preston North End v Sheffield Wednesday
Reading v Fulham
Rotherham United v Burton Albion
Wolverhampton Wanderers v Queens Park Rangers

Monday 2nd January 2017

Sky Bet Championship

Birmingham City v Brentford
Blackburn Rovers v Newcastle United
Bristol City v Reading
Burton Albion v Preston North End
Cardiff City v Aston Villa
Fulham v Brighton & Hove Albion
Leeds United v Rotherham United
Norwich City v Derby County
Nottingham Forest v Barnsley
Queens Park Rangers v Ipswich Town
Sheffield Wednesday v Wolverhampton Wanderers
Wigan Athletic v Huddersfield Town

Final day:

Sunday 7th May 2017

Sky Bet Championship

Aston Villa v Brighton & Hove Albion
Brentford v Blackburn Rovers
Bristol City v Birmingham City
Burton Albion v Reading
Huddersfield Town v Cardiff City
Newcastle United v Barnsley
Norwich City v Queens Park Rangers
Nottingham Forest v Ipswich Town
Rotherham United v Derby County
Sheffield Wednesday v Fulham
Wigan Athletic v Leeds United
Wolverhampton Wanderers v Preston North End

Fixture list: Click here to see the 2016/17 Sky Bet Championship fixtures in full


Click on the club name to see their fixture list for Season 2016/17:

Aston Villa
Birmingham City
Blackburn Rovers
Brighton & Hove Albion
Bristol City
Burton Albion
Cardiff City
Derby County
Huddersfield Town
Ipswich Town
Leeds United
Newcastle United
Norwich City
Nottingham Forest
Preston North End
Queens Park Rangers
Rotherham United
Sheffield Wednesday
Wigan Athletic
Wolverhampton Wanderers

Please note: All fixtures are subject to change.

Advertisement block