Skip to main content Skip to site footer

The Football League announce shortlist for 2016 Sky Bet League 2 Player of the Year Award

12 April 2016

The Football League have announced the three-man shortlist for the 2016 Sky Bet League 2 Player of the Year award.

The winner will be announced at The Football League Awards in Manchester on Sunday 17th April.

This year’s nominees are:

Matty Taylor (Bristol Rovers)

The Bristol Rovers forward has hit the back of the net an impressive 26 times to spearhead the Pirates’ promotion push.

Ricky Holmes (Northampton Town)

The talented winger has been central to the Cobblers’ charge to promotion with a series of dominant displays and 10 goals.

Kemar Roofe (Oxford United)

In his first full season at Oxford United, the 23-year-old has scored an eye-catching 23 goals from midfield.

YOUR VIEW: Who do you think should be named @SkyBetLeague2 Player of the Year at the #FLAwards this Sunday?

— The Football League (@football_league) April 12, 2016
The Sky Bet Player of the Year awards have been voted for by managers of the clubs in each division. Each Sky Bet League 2 manager was asked to list their top five players from this season in order, with the votes added up and the overall top three forming the shortlist. Previous winners include Danny Mayor (2015), Matt Ritchie (2012), Craig Dawson (2010), Grant Holt (2009) and Keith Andrews (2008).

The Football League Awards celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League's 72 clubs, rewarding players, clubs and fans.

Speaking on the award, Shaun Harvey, Chief Executive of The Football League, said: “It has been another fantastic season in Sky Bet League 2 and the three players on the shortlist have been pivotal figures in their respective club’s push for promotion.

"We wish all three players the very best of luck and look forward to announcing the winner on Sunday.”

Other categories include the Young Player of the Year Award, the Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, Capital One Supporter of the Year, the Mitre Goal of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.

For the first time this year the Awards will also recognise the best 11 players and manager from across the 72 clubs, with the ‘Football Manager Team of the Season’ to be announced on the night.

Live updates as the winners are announced will be provided via The Football League’s Twitter page, @football_league, on Sunday evening, with the Awards ceremony also broadcast live on The Football League’s YouTube channel from 8:45pm.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of award categories, visit or search #FLAwards.

Previous League 2 Player of the Year winners are:

2015: Danny Mayor (Bury)
2014: Gary Roberts (Chesterfield)
2013: Tom Pope (Port Vale)
2012: Matt Ritchie (Swindon Town)
2011: Ryan Lowe (Bury)
2010: Craig Dawson (Rochdale)
2009: Grant Holt (Shrewsbury Town)
2008: Keith Andrews (Milton Keynes Dons)
2007: Izale McLeod (Milton Keynes Dons)
2006: Karl Hawley (Carlisle United)

Advertisement block