Skip to main content Skip to site footer

The Football League announce shortlist for 2016 Sky Bet League 1 Player of the Year Award

13 April 2016

The Football League have announced the three-man shortlist for the 2016 Sky Bet League 1 Player of the Year award.

The winner will be announced at The Football League awards in Manchester on Sunday 17th April.

This year’s nominees are:

Bradley Dack (Gillingham)

The 23-year-old midfielder has been one of the driving forces behind the Gills’ promotion push with 15 goals so far this season.

Nicky Ajose (Swindon Town)

The talented forward has been one of the shining lights of Swindon’s season with 23 goals.

Romaine Sawyers (Walsall)

The 24-year-old midfielder has won plaudits across the division and beyond for his dominant midfield displays throughout the season.

YOUR VIEW: Who do you think should be named @SkyBetLeague1 Player of the Year at Sunday's #FLAwards?

— The Football League (@football_league) April 13, 2016
The Sky Bet Player of the Year awards have been voted for by managers of the clubs in each division. Each Sky Bet League 1 manager was asked to list their top five players from this season in order, with the votes added up and the overall top three forming the shortlist.

Previous winners include Joe Garner (2015), Matt Ritchie (2013), Jordan Rhodes (2012), Jermaine Beckford (2010 & 2008) and Matty Fryatt (2009).

The Football League Awards celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League's 72 clubs, rewarding players, clubs and fans.

Speaking on the award, Shaun Harvey, Chief Executive of The Football League, said: "There’s no shortage of talent in Sky Bet League 1 and this shortlist includes three players who have performed fantastically throughout the campaign.

"We wish them the very best of luck for Sunday evening’s Awards ceremony.”

Other categories include the Young Player of the Year Award, the Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, Capital One Supporter of the Year, the Mitre Goal of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.

For the first time this year the Awards will also recognise the best 11 players and manager from across the 72 clubs, with the ‘Football Manager Team of the Season’ to be announced on the night.

Live updates as the winners are announced will be provided via The Football League’s Twitter page, @football_league, on Sunday evening, with the Awards ceremony also broadcast live on The Football League’s YouTube channel from 8:45pm.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of award categories, visit or search #FLAwards.

Previous League 1 Player of the Year winners are:

2015: Joe Garner (Preston North End)
2014: Adam Forshaw (Brentford)
2013: Matt Ritchie (Swindon Town/AFC Bournemouth)
2012: Jordan Rhodes (Huddersfield Town)
2011: Craig Mackail-Smith (Peterborough United)
2010: Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United)
2009: Matt Fryatt (Leicester City)
2008: Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United)
2007: Billy Sharp (Scunthorpe United)
2006: Lee Trundle (Swansea City)

Advertisement block