Skip to main content Skip to site footer

The Football League announce shortlist for 2016 Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year Award

14 April 2016

The Football League have announced the three-man shortlist for the 2016 Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year award.

The winner will be announced at The Football League awards in Manchester on Sunday 17th April.

This year’s nominees are:

Alan Judge (Brentford)

Brentford’s Irish midfielder received international honours as he hit the back an impressive 14 times this season.

Andre Gray (Burnley)

In his first season at Burnley, the forward has been a key figure in the Clarets’ promotion push with 23 goals so far.

Ross McCormack (Fulham)

23 goals from the Scottish international have been a highlight in Fulham’s season.

YOUR VIEW: Who do you think should be named @SkyBetChamp Player of the Year at Sunday's #FLAwards?

— The Football League (@football_league) April 14, 2016
The Sky Bet Player of the Year awards have been voted for by managers of the clubs in each division. Each Sky Bet Championship manager was asked to list their top five players from this season in order, with the votes added up and the overall top three forming the shortlist.

Previous winners include Patrick Bamford (2015), Danny Ings (2014), Ricky Lambert (2012), Kevin Phillips (2008) and Phil Jagielka (2007).

The Football League Awards celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League's 72 clubs, rewarding players, clubs and fans.

Speaking on the award, Shaun Harvey, Chief Executive of The Football League, said: “We are delighted to announce the shortlist for this prestigious award. It has been another fantastic season in the Sky Bet Championship and the performances that these three players have shown throughout the season make them very deserving of a place on the shortlist.

“We look forward to announcing the winner on Sunday evening.”

Other categories include The Football League Young Player of the Year Award, the Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, Capital One Supporter of the Year, the Mitre Goal of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.

For the first time this year the Awards will also recognise the best 11 players and manager from across the 72 clubs, with the ‘Football Manager Team of the Season’ to be announced on the night.

Live updates as the winners are announced will be provided via The Football League’s Twitter page, @football_league, on Sunday evening, with the Awards ceremony also broadcast live on The Football League’s YouTube channel from 8:45pm.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of award categories, visit or search #FLAwards.

Previous Championship Player of the Year winners are:

2015: Patrick Bamford (Middlesbrough)
2014: Danny Ings (Burnley)
2013: Matej Vydra (Watford)
2012: Rickie Lambert (Southampton)
2011: Adel Taarabt (Queens Park Rangers)
2010: Kevin Nolan (Newcastle United)
2009: Sylvan Ebanks-Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
2008: Kevin Phillips (West Bromwich Albion)
2007: Jason Koumas (West Bromwich Albion)
2006: Phil Jagielka (Sheffield United)

Advertisement block