Skip to main content Skip to site footer

#FLAwards 2016 – Shortlists in full

15 April 2016

A total of 34 different clubs are included on the final shortlists for Sunday’s Football League Awards.

The annual awards ceremony celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League’s 72 clubs, and for the first time this year takes place in Manchester.

Fans will be able to watch The Football League Awards ceremony live on YouTube from 8:45pm on Sunday evening. The winners will also be announced live on The Football League’s official Twitter account at @football_league.

In addition to the below shortlists, the Football Manager Team of the Season will see 11 players and a manager from across the three divisions recognised for their performances in the 2015/16 campaign.

Two further awards will be presented to specific individuals – a recently retired player will be honoured with the Sir Tom Finney Award, and the prestigious ‘Contribution to League Football’ award presented to someone who has given a lifetime’s service to the game.

Football League Awards 2016 - Shortlists

Football League Young Player of the Year:
Moussa Dembele (Fulham)
Lewis Cook (Leeds United)
Rico Henry (Walsall)

Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year:
Alan Judge (Brentford)
Andre Gray (Burnley)
Ross McCormack (Fulham)

Sky Bet League 1 Player of the Year:
Bradley Dack (Gillingham)
Nick Ajose (Swindon Town)
Romaine Sawyers (Walsall)

Sky Bet League 2 Player of the Year:
Matt Taylor (Bristol Rovers)
Ricky Holmes (Northampton Town)
Kemar Roofe (Oxford United)

Mitre Goal of the Year:
Michael Duckworth (Hartlepool United)
Kemar Roofe (Oxford United)
Jermaine Beckford (Preston North End)
Danny Williams (Reading)
Marco Matias (Sheffield Wednesday)

Capital One Supporter of the Year:
Championship - Oskar Pycroft
League 1 - Tommy Leggett
League 2 - Pat Custard

Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year:
Doncaster Rovers
Oxford United

Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year:
North East & Yorkshire – Rotherham United
North West – Burnley
Midlands – Burton Albion
London – Charlton Athletic
South East – Brighton & Hove Albion
South West & Wales – Cardiff City

PFA Player in the Community:
Danny Grainger (Carlisle United)
Andy Butler (Doncaster Rovers)
George Friend (Middlesbrough)

LFE Apprentice of the Year - Championship:
David Popa (Birmingham City)
Ademola Lookman (Charlton Athletic)
Mathew Hudson (Preston North End)

LFE Apprentice of the Year - League 1:
James Bree (Barnsley)
Bright Osayi-Samuel (Blackpool)
Thomas Smith (Swindon Town)

LFE Apprentice of the Year - League 2:
Hakeem Odoffin (Barnet) *
Frankie Musonda (Luton Town)
Ben Godfrey (York City) **

* Now at Wolverhampton Wanderers
** Now at Norwich City

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, visit or search #FLAwards.

Advertisement block