Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Paul Dickov departs Doncaster Rovers after poor start

8 September 2015

Doncaster Rovers have relieved Paul Dickov, who was the 21st longest-serving Football League boss, of his managerial duties following a disappointing start to 2015/16.

Under Dickov this season, Rovers have managed just one victory to date, picking up six points from six games, leaving them 17th in Sky Bet League 1.

Last term Doncaster finished 13th and eight points adrift of the Play-Offs, and Chairman David Blunt confirmed the the 42-year-old has left his post based on performance to date.

A club statement on the club's official website read: “The Board are ambitious for a top-six finish and that is, and will remain, our aim.

“From today Rob Jones will take charge of first-team affairs on a temporary basis. The club has full confidence in Rob as we now look forward to a tough game against Walsall this weekend.

“The Board of Directors would like to take this opportunity to thank Paul Dickov for his efforts on and off the pitch, and wish him well for the future.”

Dickov is the second managerial casualty in Sky Bet League 1 this week, following Dave Robertson's departure from Peterborough United on Sunday.

Read more: Peterborough United part with Dave Robertson

Prior to his departure, Dickov was the 21st longest-serving manager in The Football League. Below is a list of all the current managers, in order of their appointment.

1Paul TisdaleExeter City06/06League 2
2Karl RobinsonMilton Keynes Dons05/10Championship
3Dean SmithWalsall01/11League 1
4Jim BentleyMorecambe05/11League 2
Phil ParkinsonBradford City08/11League 1
6Steve DavisCrewe Alexandra11/11League 1
7Steve EvansRotherham United04/12Championship
8Steve BruceHull City06/12Championship
9Gareth AinsworthWycombe Wanderers09/12League 2
10Richard MoneyCambridge United10/12League 2
11Neal ArdleyAFC Wimbledon10/12League 2
12Sean DycheBurnley10/12Championship
13Mick McCarthyIpswich Town11/12Championship
14Graham AlexanderFleetwood Town12/12League 1
15Keith HillRochdale02/13League 1
16Simon GraysonPreston North End02/13Championship
17John StillLuton Town02/13League 2
18Wayne BurnettDagenham & Redbridge02/13League 2
19Gary BowyerBlackburn Rovers03/13Championship
20Phil BrownSouthend United03/13League 1
21Kenny JackettWolverhampton Wanderers05/13Championship
22Mark CooperSwindon Town07/13League 1
23Aitor KarankaMiddlesbrough11/13Championship
24Steve CotterillBristol City12/13Championship
25David FlitcroftBury12/13League 1
26Chris WilderNorthampton Town01/14League 2
27Martin AllenBarnet03/14League 2
28Darrell ClarkeBristol Rovers03/14League 2
29Micky MellonShrewsbury Town05/14League 1
30Michael AppletonOxford United07/14League 2
31Tony HumesColchester United09/14League 1
32Chris PowellHuddersfield Town09/14Championship
33John ColemanAccrington Stanley09/14League 2
34Rob PagePort Vale09/14League 1
35Kit SymonsFulham09/14Championship
36Keith CurleCarlisle United09/14League 2
37Russell SladeCardiff City10/14Championship
38Neil LennonBolton Wanderers10/14Championship
39Mark RobinsScunthorpe United10/14League 1
40Russ WilcoxYork City10/14League 2
41Gary RowettBirmingham City10/14Championship
42Jimmy Floyd HasselbainkBurton Albion11/14League 1
43Adam MurrayMansfield Town11/14League 2
44Steve ClarkeReading12/14Championship
45Ronnie MooreHartlepool United12/14League 2
46Chris HughtonBrighton & Hove Albion12/14Championship
47Guy LuzonCharlton Athletic01/15Championship
48Dougie FreedmanNottingham Forest02/15Championship
49Chris RamseyQueens Park Rangers02/15Championship
50Justin EdinburghGillingham02/15League 1
51Lee JohnsonBarnsley02/15League 1
52Tony MowbrayCoventry City03/15League 1
53Neil HarrisMillwall03/15League 1
54Ricardo MonizNotts County04/15League 2
55Gary CaldwellWigan Athletic04/15League 1
56Paul SturrockYeovil Town04/15League 2
57Terry ButcherNewport County04/15League 2
58Paul CookPortsmouth05/15League 2
59Dean SaundersChesterfield05/15League 1
60Mark YatesCrawley Town05/15League 2
61Uwe RoslerLeeds United05/15Championship
62Ian HendonLeyon Orient05/15League 2
63Marinus DijkhuizenBrentford06/15Championship
64Paul ClementDerby County06/15Championship
65Darren KellyOldham Athletic06/15League 1
66Teddy SheringhamStevenage06/15League 2
67Neil McDonaldBlackpool06/15League 1
68Nigel AdkinsSheffield United06/15League 1
69Derek AdamsPlymouth Argyle06/15League 2
70Carlos CarvalhalSheffield Wednesday06/15Championship
71VacantPeterborough UnitedVacantLeague 1
72VacantDoncaster RoversVacantLeague 1

Advertisement block