Skip to main content Skip to site footer

The Football League Family Excellence Award winners announced

8 May 2015

The Football League Family Excellence Award winners have been announced for the 2014/15 season.

Created in 2007, the award recognises the outstanding experience provided by clubs for young fans and families as part of a scheme that won the Gold Award at the European Professional Football Leagues’ Best Practice Awards.

A total of 42 clubs from across all three divisions of The Football League have achieved the award for 2015, with a significant increase in the benchmark standard being applied by the judging panel.

More than ever this year Football League clubs are providing families with engaging and innovative matchday entertainment that delivers a money-can’t-buy experience for young fans. Similarly many clubs are setting benchmark standards by introducing innovative new ways to interact with families before, during and after matchdays.

With an increase in the number of juniors and families now attending matches around the country, in the last six seasons junior attendance in The Football League has risen by 31% compared with a 6% increase in overall attendance during the same period, this is both testament to clubs’ work to attract them, and an indication of the challenge and importance of retaining them for generations to come. 

In announcing the successful clubs, Football League chief executive Shaun Harvey, said: “The Football League Family Excellence Award gives clubs a standard to aspire to when planning their efforts to attract more families and young fans to their matches.

“It is hugely encouraging to see so many clubs receiving the accolade, demonstrating The Football League’s ongoing commitment to securing the next generation of fans.”

Six clubs secured the award for the eighth year running – Doncaster Rovers, Huddersfield Town, Ipswich Town, Milton Keynes Dons, Shrewsbury Town and Tranmere Rovers. York City has been awarded the accolade for the first time.

The award recipients are decided by an independent assessment using real families that has been commissioned by The Football League, at all 72 League clubs, during the 2014/15 season.

Clubs receiving the Family Excellence Award in 2015:

AFC Bournemouth
AFC Wimbledon
Birmingham City
Blackburn Rovers
Bolton Wanderers
Brighton & Hove Albion
Bristol City
Burton Albion
Cardiff City
Carlisle United
Cheltenham Town
Colchester United
Crewe Alexandra
Dagenham and Redbridge
Derby County
Doncaster Rovers
Fleetwood Town
Huddersfield Town
Ipswich Town
MK Dons
Northampton Town
Notts County
Peterborough United
Plymouth Argyle
Preston North End
Scunthorpe United
Sheffield Wednesday
Shrewsbury Town
Southend United
Tranmere Rovers
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Wycombe Wanderers
York City

Advertisement block