Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Mansfield Town's penalty drought

1 May 2015

Mansfield Town are just one game away from going the entire 2014/15 season without being awarded a penalty.

Adam Murray's men are the only side in The Football League this term not to have been handed the scoring opportunity from 12 yards, and that drought stretches back an extraordinary 80 games.

The Stags' last penalty was given in November 2013, when Morecambe visited the One Call Stadium. Colin Daniel was felled by Barry Roche, but the Shrimps' goalkeeper redeemed himself to deny Sam Clucas from the spot, and the Stags went on to lose the match 2-1.

The last team in Sky Bet League 2 to 'achieve' the feat was Accrington Stanley, who didn't manage to earn a single spot-kick during the 2011/12 campaign. And, coincidentally, Stanley are the opponents on Saturday afternoon, when the two sides meet at the Store First Stadium to round off their respective campaigns.

You can see if Mansfield get that long-awaited penalty – and keep up-to-date will all the last-day action – by following @SkyBetLeague2 on Twitter.

Advertisement block