Skip to main content Skip to site footer

2015/16 Football League divisional line-ups

26 May 2015

Following the conclusion of the Sky Bet Football League Play-Off Finals, all promotion and relegation issues have been settled in The Football League.

The clubs that will be competing in each division of The League for the 2015/16 season are as follows.

Sky Bet Championship

Queens Park Rangers and Burnley will be familiar faces in next season’s Sky Bet Championship as both return after one season in the Premier League.

Hull City also return to The Football League after suffering last-day relegation from the top flight.

The Championship will welcome a new club next season, as Milton Keynes Dons take their place in the second tier for the first time in their history alongside Sky Bet League 1 champions Bristol City and Play-Off winners Preston North End.

Ipswich Town, Brentford and Middlesbrough, meanwhile, will be looking to bounce back next season after Play-Off disappointment.

Birmingham City
Blackburn Rovers
Bolton Wanderers
Brighton & Hove Albion
Bristol City
Cardiff City
Charlton Athletic
Derby County
Huddersfield Town
Hull City
Ipswich Town
Leeds United
Milton Keynes Dons
Nottingham Forest
Preston North End
Queens Park Rangers
Rotherham United
Sheffield Wednesday
Wolverhampton Wanderers

Sky Bet League 1

Burton Albion will play Sky Bet League 1 football for the first time in their 65-year history after winning Sky Bet League 2 last season. They will be joined by Shrewsbury Town - who bounced back at the first attempt - Bury and Play-Off Final winners Southend United.

The Brewers can look forward to meetings with Blackpool, Millwall and 2013 FA Cup winners Wigan Athletic, after the trio were relegated from the Sky Bet Championship.

Bradford City
Burton Albion
Colchester United
Coventry City
Crewe Alexandra
Doncaster Rovers
Fleetwood Town
Oldham Athletic
Peterborough United
Port Vale
Scunthorpe United
Sheffield United
Shrewsbury Town
Southend United
Swindon Town
Wigan Athletic

Sky Bet League 2

Sky Bet League 2 will welcome back two clubs with rich Football League histories in Barnet and Bristol Rovers.

The Bees were last in The League in 2012/13 while Rovers made an immediate return by beating Grimsby Town in the Conference Play-Off Final, after final-day relegation in 2013/14.

Joining them in Sky Bet League 2 are Yeovil Town, Crawley Town, Leyton Orient and 2010 champions Notts County, who were all relegated from League 1.

Accrington Stanley
AFC Wimbledon
Bristol Rovers
Cambridge United
Carlisle United
Crawley Town
Dagenham & Redbridge
Exeter City
Hartlepool United
Leyton Orient
Luton Town
Mansfield Town
Newport County
Northampton Town
Notts County
Oxford United
Plymouth Argyle
Wycombe Wanderers
Yeovil Town
York City

The fixtures for the 2015/16 season will be released on 17th June, with the campaign commencing on 8th August.

Advertisement block