Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Carabao Cup

Capital One Cup 2015/16 – Round 1 seedings

9 June 2015

The Capital One Cup draw takes place at 10am on Tuesday 16th June, and the seedings have been confirmed for the First Round.

For the Round 1 draw, the seeded teams will be split into two regional groups (based predominantly on a ‘North’ and ‘South’ split), and drawn against an unseeded team from the equivalent pot on a random home or away basis.

Among the top seeds are the trio of Burnley, Hull City and Queens Park Rangers following their return to The Football League, while Barnet and Bristol Rovers make their return to the competition in the unseeded group following their promotion to The League.

The Clarets and QPR joined the action in last year's competition at the Second Round stage and were both dumped out by sides in the lower divisions.

Sheffield Wednesday overcame Sean Dyche's men 1-0 at Turf Moor, and the Hoops – who lifted the trophy in 1967 - were knocked out the following day against the eventual Sky Bet League 2 winners, Burton Albion.

Hull joined a round later due to their participation in the Europa League, but they also lasted just 90 minutes in the tournament as they fell to a 3-2 defeat against fellow Premier League outfit West Bromwich Albion.

Another team in the seeded side of the draw are Sheffield United, who will be looking to replicate the form that saw them push Tottenham Hotspur all the way over two legs as they reached the semi-finals of last year's competition. 

Bristol Rovers and Barnet are two of the 36 clubs in the unseeded side of the draw.

Rovers' last match in the competition saw them defeated 3-1 by Watford at the Memorial Stadium and Barnet, who took the Conference title last year, return to play their first fixture in the tournament since August 2012, when they were also brushed aside by Championship opposition, in a 5-1 loss to Birmingham City.

First Round ties will be played during the week commencing 10th August 2015.

Advertisement block