Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Checkatrade Trophy

Celebrating a decade of the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy: The 10 most memorable moments

7 July 2015

With Johnstone’s Paint renewing its sponsorship of The Football League Trophy for the 10th season, we take a look back at the most memorable moments from the past decade of the competition.

2006/07: Graeme Lee’s extra-time winner (Bristol Rovers 2-3 Doncaster Rovers)

In the first final after Johnstone’s Paint announced their sponsorship of the Football League Trophy, Graeme Lee’s extra-time strike proved decisive.

Doncaster had played out a 2-2 draw with Bristol Rovers in normal time, but Lee’s 110th-minute header would send his side’s supporters into raptures and wrote his name into the Yorkshire club’s folklore.

2007/08: Keith Andrews’ penalty (Grimsby Town 0-2 Milton Keynes Dons)
A controversial spot-kick was to prove vital in the match, as Milton Keynes Dons claimed the Trophy.

Andrews slammed in from 12 yards, before Sean O’Hanlon wrapped up the victory late on.

2008/09: Claude Gnakpa’s lob settles thriller (Luton Town 3-2 Scunthorpe United)

In arguably the best game of football seen at Wembley Stadium, an extra-time winner from Claude Gnakpa would be the difference between the two sides.

Luton and Scunthorpe had been evenly matched throughout the 90 minutes, but Gnakpa showed desire and commitment to win the tie – lobbing the ball in from 20 yards to ensure that his team lifted the trophy.

2009/10: Michail Antonio wraps up comprehensive win (Carlisle United 1-4 Southampton)

In one of the most dominant performances seen in a Johnstone’s Paint Trophy Final, Southampton comfortably dispatched Carlisle United.

The Saints were already in control before Antonio scored, thanks to goals from Rickie Lambert, Adam Lallana and Papa Waigo, but the powerful winger’s delightful strike was the pick of the bunch, as the south coast side secured a memorable triumph.

2010/11: Peter Murphy blasts the winner (Brentford 0-1 Carlisle United)
A year on from their aforementioned hammering from Southampton, Carlisle were back at Wembley and this match had a much happier ending.

It was fitting that club legend Peter Murphy should bag the winner, with his 12th-minute goal enough to guide the Cumbrians to the victory.

2011/12: Oliver Risser’s embarrassment (Chesterfield 2-0 Swindon Town)
Wembley is supposed the be the stadium where footballers’ dreams come true, but for Risser the ground turned into a place where his worst nightmare occurred.

The Namibian international was guilty of inadvertently diverting a cross into his own net, which sent Chesterfield on their way to victory.

The Spireites sealed the win with a late goal from Craig Westcarr, but Risser could only blame himself after the game.

"It happened so fast and maybe I was in the wrong position," he said to BBC Sport.

"It's even more frustrating now that I've seen it. I could have changed it and it was maybe my fault we lost."

2012/13: Max Clayton wins it for Crewe (Crewe Alexandra 2-0 Southend United)

Crewe Alexandra’s dominance of the match was reflected in the scoreline when Max Clayton netted his side’s second to confirm their superiority.

Luke Murphy had given the Cheshire-based side the lead, before Clayton finished off a fine move to seal the win.

2013/14: Britt Assombalonga wins it from the spot (Chesterfield 1-3 Peterborough United)
Britt Assombalonga would prove the hero for Peterborough United, as he lashed in a spot-kick to help the club lift the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy for the first time in their history.

Posh had been given a tough test by Chesterfield, who were plying their trade in Sky Bet League 2 at the time, but Assombalonga’s driven shot from 12 yards was enough to see Darren Ferguson’s men over the line.

2014/15: Walsall make history with maiden Wembley appearance
The 2015 Final presented the Saddlers with a trip to Wembley Stadium for the first time in their 127-year history.

Their run in the competition had been impressive leading up to the Area Final, when they faced high-flying Preston North End over two legs.

Two late goals at Deepdale from Anthony Forde and Tom Bradshaw gave Walsall a first-leg advantage over their Sky Bet League 1 rivals, and a goalless draw at home saw them through to finally present them with a trip to the national stadium.

2014/15: Goal machine Aden Flint puts Robins on road to glory (Bristol City 2-0 Walsall)
Bristol City went into the 2015 Final in fine form, sitting comfortably clear at the top of the Sky Bet League 1 table, and were strongly fancied to beat Walsall at Wembley.

Walsall would have been eager to impress on their first visit to the national stadium, but were dealt a blow just quarter of an hour into the match.

Aden Flint had been in fine goalscoring form for the Robins during the campaign, and the towering centre back reached double figures for the season with a header at Wembley to separate the sides.

Bristol City didn't look back, going on to win 2-0 with Mark Little doubling the lead in the second half as the Robins won the competition for a record third time.

Advertisement block