Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Shortlist announced for Stand Up & Be Counted campaign

2 December 2015

Fans of every club in with a chance of winning a trip to the UK to see their team play.

Football League club fans from around the world are in with a chance of winning a trip to the UK to see their team play, after one fan from each of the 72 clubs was shortlisted to win The Football League’s ‘Stand Up & Be Counted’ Campaign.

An overall winner from the 72 shortlisted fans will be announced on Saturday evening’s ‘Football On 5’ highlights programme on channel 5 from 9pm, with that fan then being given the incredible opportunity to fly over and watch their team in action later this season.

Each of the shortlisted fans, listed below, will be given one month’s free access to their Club PlayerHD service*, so they can listen to live match commentary of their club’s games wherever they are in the world.

A total of over 52,000 supporters from around the globe took part in the initiative by registering at, with at least one fan registered in all 247 of the different territories. The country with the most fans registered was Australia, with a total of 8,667 fans standing up to be counted for their Football League club.

Topping the list of clubs with the most fans registered as part of the campaign was League 2 Notts County, whose total of 6,359 fans put them ahead of Leeds United, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Queens Park Rangers and Nottingham Forest in the rankings. Over half of the Magpies total came from fans in Italy, and was primarily down to the unique support they have from the ‘Italian Magpies’ supporters group – established because of the club’s connection to Italian giants Juventus.

As a reward for finishing top of the club league, The Football League will be providing an additional prize to fly a Notts County fan over to the UK to see them play. The name of the Notts County club winner is therefore being kept secret as the club will be revealing which supporter that is on Monday.

Fans can see the club and country standings, and a map of the world showing their club’s fanbase, at

Commenting on the campaign, Shaun Harvey, Chief Executive of The Football League said: “Football League clubs have always been right at the heart of their local communities but it’s quite incredible that there are also fans of our clubs in every country in the world. It’s great to see the level of passion there is for The Football League around the globe and we are delighted to offer the opportunity for fans abroad to come and see their team live as a reward for the support they show their respective clubs.”

Fans who missed out on being shortlisted for the prize to fly to the UK still don’t have to miss a goal for their club with The Football League’s Club PlayerHD service offering live match commentary of every game. In addition, Football League matches and highlights are broadcast in up to 167 territories around the world every week throughout the season.

The full shortlist of fans in contention to win the prize, to be announced on Saturday evening, is:

ClubWinner NameCityWinner Country
Accrington StanleyTim McGloneMelbourneAustralia
AFC WimbledonMartin Najam
BarnetBrian MackieTorontoCanada
BarnsleyAlan SelfMelbourneAustralia
Birmingham CityNick MatelyLancasterUnited States
Blackburn RoversSindre SvenheimOsloNorway
BlackpoolCraig FogdenAdelaideAustralia
Bolton WanderersJack HoldenMarbellaSpain
Bradford CityFrancois MatteQuebec CityCanada
BrentfordAnne CoatesTucsonUnited States
Brighton & Hove AlbionNicholas Mills
Bristol CityWayne Macey
Bristol RoversJeff Clark
BurnelyCaroline BurnleyNanaimoCanada
Burton AlbionDavid TomlinsonPaphosCyprus
BuryRoy HainsworthPerthAustralia
Cambridge UnitedPaul BarryKirklandUnited States
Cardiff CityTitus MumoMombasaKenya
Carlisle UnitedMinna KuuttiKangasalaFinland
Charlton AthleticBenno LindblomVastra FrolundaSweden
ChesterfieldAlex DouglasBrisbaneAustralia
Colchester United
Jane Hearsum
Coventry CityDale HarrisMiamiAmerica
Crawley TownLynne YarnevichKansas CityUnited States
Crewe AlexandraRoy DonaldsonMalahideRepublic of Ireland
Dagenham & RedbridgeGibson CansellGrays PointAustralia
Derby CountyMujin KangSeoulSouth Korea
Doncaster RoversMichael BeardPortlandUnited States
Exeter CityKnut BerntsenLillesandNorway
Fleetwood TownHeikki PeuralahtiTurkuFinland
FulhamDeborah GoodVancouverCanada
GillinghamAshley DarleyCanberraAustralia
Hartlepool UnitedJamie CoxAdelaideAustralia
HuddersfieldAlex WorkmanAntibesFrance
Hull CityMichael QuinlanPerthAustralia
Ipswich TownHovedskov Jã¸RgensenCopenhagenDenmark
Leeds UnitedDarren PrykeMarkhamCanada
Leyton OrientMike RowleyQueretaroMexico
Luton TownReidar SolliOsloNorway
Mansfield TownNeil KeelingSt. John'sAntigua & Barbuda
MiddlesbroughBill RobinsonDonegalRep. Ireland
Milton Keynes DonsMichelle HarrisonGold CoastAustralia
MillwallGregorio FernandezDen BoschNetherlands
MorecambeRalph Von BorzestowskiHerneGermany
Newport CountyKate MayAlicanteSpain
Northampton TownPaul WhelanBangkokThailand
Nottingham ForestDmitry SuchkovSan MateoUnited States
Notts CountyName TBC
Special Club Winner
Oldham AthleticStuart McClaskeyCheongjuSouth Korea
Oxford UnitedNeil JamesAdelaideAustralia
Peterborough UnitedEd Winnovaland
New Caledonia
Plymouth ArgyleGary WyattRose BayCanada
Port ValeJosyane BekkerPhnom PenhCambodia
PortsmouthJarrod CoombyAlbion ParkAustralia
Preston North EndAlan BertwistleFlagstaffUnited States
Queens Park RangersPaul SheehanSydneyAustralia
ReadingPaul HawkinsDammamSaudi Arabia
RochdaleLeo WatsonSydneyAustralia
RotherhamDavid GrahamAdelaideAustralia
Scunthorpe UnitedJules BruttonAlmeriaSpain
Sheffield UnitedMarcus GeissBad PyrmontGermany
Sheffield WednesdayBrian UptonMunichGermany
Shrewsbury TownPedro FerreiraBalneario CamboriuBrazil
Southend UnitedTony HallLourdoueix St MichelFrance
StevenageGoran KroloVinkovciCroatia
Swindon TownDavid DeaconStockholmSweden
WalsallEric ButteryTorreviejaSpain
Wigan AthleticGary WinstanleyTuen MunHong Kong
Wolverhampton WanderersPaul HealyHenschtalGermany
Wycombe WanderersMary ClarkGreenvilleUnited States
Yeovil TownJohn Swanton
United States
York CityPlaton EgorovKazanRussia

Advertisement block