Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Carabao Cup

Former League Cup winners in Round 1 of the Capital One Cup

11 August 2015

Eleven former League Cup winners will enter Round 1 of the Capital One Cup, with the competition returning for the 2015/16 season on Tuesday.

Nottingham Forest, Birmingham City, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Blackburn Rovers, Leeds United, Middlesbrough, Luton Town, Oxford United, Queens Park Rangers, Sheffield Wednesday and Swindon Town will feature this week, and all have previously lifted the trophy.

Forest are the most successful side appearing in Round 1, having triumphed four times in the Final of the competition over the course of their history. Their bid for a fifth success will begin at the City Ground, where they take on Walsall

Roll of honour: Click here to see a list of previous League Cup winners

Birmingham are the Round 1 side with the most recent trophy win, having beaten Arsenal at Wembley in 2011, and they open their campaign against Bristol Rovers this time around, who are returning to the Capital One Cup after a year’s absence. 

Other previous winners are Luton Town and Oxford United, who both now ply their trade in Sky Bet League 2, making them the lowest-ranked of the former champions. Both sides will be looking to cause upsets against Sky Bet Championship opponents in their first Cup fixtures, as Luton face Bristol City and Oxford meet Brentford.

Read more: Bristol City boss Steve Cotterill taking nothing for granted ahead of Luton Town test

Leeds, who lifted the trophy in 1968, conclude Round 1 proceedings against Doncaster Rovers in a Yorkshire derby, a game which will be screened live on Sky Sports this Thursday.  

Read more: Capital One Cup Round 1 preview

Advertisement block